Italian-Style Baked Egg Cups

And the muffin love continues…but this time in savory egg form! Lately, I’ve been on a sweet muffin kick but woke up this morning in the mood for veggies and protein for breakfast. This recipe was inspired by Rachael Ray’s Ham, Leek and Gruyere Baked Egg Cups – I saw her make these a while back on Food Network and was looking forward to making my own version…these did not disappoint!

With a different twist on a quiche or an egg scramble, these single-serving baked egg cups are portable and easy to take on-the-go. If you are tired of the same old breakfast shake, protein bar or sweet muffin, give these a try!

This recipe is flexible and can be tweaked to your liking, see recipe notes below for ideas on flavor variations. You could serve this high-protein dish for a light dinner or brunch alongside a salad and fresh fruit.

Italian-Style Baked Egg Cups

Ingredients

6 slices of nitrate-free turkey slices (I used reduced-sodium deli slices at Sprouts)
1 tsp coconut oil (butter or your favorite oil could also be used)
1/3 cup chopped onion
2 small or 1 large garlic clove(s), minced
3-4 mushrooms, chopped
1 1/2 cups of fresh spinach
2 tsp Italian seasoning
3 eggs
salt and pepper to taste
2-3 Tbsp parmesan, shredded

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Grease 6 muffins cups (I used the silicone baking cups so I could bake in my toaster oven) and fold the turkey slices inside making a cup (depending on size of slices, you may have to fold in half).
2. In a small skillet, melt the oilt over medium-high heat.  Add the onion, garlic and mushrooms and cook for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add spinach and cook until wilted, about one minute. Set aside to slightly cool.
3. Meanwhile, in a small mixing bowl, add italian seasoning, eggs, and salt and pepper to taste. Whisk until eggs are combined.
4. Divide the spinach-onion mixture evenly and spoon into the turkey-lined cups. Pour the egg mixture evenly into the cups and top with shredded cheese.
5.  Place the muffin pan (or silicone cups) onto a baking sheet and bake in preheated oven to 15 minutes or until eggs are set. Remove from oven and let cool slightly before removing from pan and enjoy!

Makes 6 egg cups

Recipe Notes: You can easily switch up the flavors by using different meats, such as ham, bacon, canadian bacon, pancetta, prosciutto etc. Substitute different herbs and spices for the italian seasoning – a southwestern twist would be delish with taco seasoning or use greek seasoning for a change. Vegetables in this recipe can be replaced to suite your tastes as well as the cheese; goat cheese, feta, cheddar or cotija would all be yummy!

21 thoughts on “Italian-Style Baked Egg Cups

  1. loved these! and they’re the perfect paleo breakfast on the go!! i omitted the onion for mushroom and added a little paprika for a kick. they also refrigerate great overnight–i’m anxious to see what a few days does to them. thanks for making my belly happy as i’m off to work!

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon-Apple Breakfast Bake « Natural Noshing

  3. Pingback: Road Trip and Protein Nut Butter Balls « Natural Noshing

  4. Pingback: Craving > 6 Easy Baked Egg Breakfast Cups | foodiecrush

  5. Pingback: Italian Style Baked Egg Cups | Celiac Safe

  6. I just started making baked egg cups for my husband who is trying to eat healthier. He loves them!
    I use only egg whites (1 per cup)
    I use low-fat baked ham that I slice to line the cup.
    Then mix the egg whites with some chopped onion and chopped up turkey sausage. I top them with a tiny piece of cheese (because I didn’t have any shredded cheddar on hand).
    Bake at 375 for about 20 min. He eats 4 of these for breakfast. They’re only about 50-60 calories depending on the sausage we use.

  7. These sound really good. I think my 9 year old will love these – my 6 year old will take a bite and it’ll be “that’s not how I like these… my ____ makes them a different way”. Keep in mind she’s talking processed yuck.

    I can’t even make oatmeal with flavored applesauce stirred in instead of the processed quick/instant flavored oatmeals.

    Oh well, she’ll go hungry or eat them…. Good thing there is only 4 hours between breakfast and lunch!

  8. Hi! My 2 kids LOVE these. Jake told me today he wants 4 of them! I did change it alittle – I used ham on the bottom, italian seasoning, and veggies from the frozen broccoli, cauliflower and carrot mix chopped up sorta fine. And then I sprinkled some cheddar on top of 1/2 of them. Very good.

  9. I’ve made a version of these–generally make a dozen at a time with whatever ingredients sound tasty, then pop ’em in the freezer. I keep them at work for a quick breakfast. They freeze pretty well–texture sometimes suffers a little but it’s worth it to have a healthy bfast ready and available.

    • I just made this, and everyone at the brunch really liked it. They were impressed, as was I, by the individual cups. I composed it the night before, covered & refrigerated it, and then baked it in the morning as per the instructions. Turned out perfectly and was delicious…will definitely take this to my next “bring a dish” brunch.

  10. I left out the mushroom onion and garlic clove. I added more sauteed spinach in butter, onion powder and garlic powder. I used oregano, basil and parsley in the egg mixture. I put one slice of turkey at the bottom. These were good but next time I’m going to bake at 350 since I used a dark muffin pan. The edges of the turkey at the top got slightly burnt.

  11. Pingback: How to Make Delicious Baked EggsFavorite Food Recipes

Leave a comment