Peach Poppyseed Cottage Cheese Pancakes

I think I found my new favorite pancakes!!! I’ve been meaning to try my hand at cottage cheese pancakes, and I’m so happy I finally did! Personally, I love cottage cheese but if this ingredient isn’t your favorite, don’t be scared! They have a light texture but you would never be able to tell that cottage cheese was in them. It adds a slight tangy flavor you would get with sour cream, buttermilk or plain yogurt but with an awesome protein punch (30 grams per recipe)!

I wanted a Southern twist to the pancakes, so I used Georgia peaches that my wonderful mother-in-law sent me from TX (thank you!). I love the lemon poppyseed combo, so why not test out peach poppyseed? This worked beautifully! I love the hint of peach and little bits of poppyseed throughout. You could switch up the flavors if you want and use raspberry, strawberry, blueberry or lemon zest etc to make your own if you prefer.

These pancakes are the perfect blend of protein and carbs and are great to refuel after a workout. Although, I just made these the other day, I’m already looking forward to my next batch!

Peach Poppyseed Cottage Cheese Pancakes

Ingredients

1/2 cup gluten free oats (or 1/3 cup gluten flour blend could probably be subbed here)
1/2 cup cottage cheese
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
2 eggs
2 Tbsp almond milk (or other milk works fine too)
1/2 tsp honey or a 3-4 drops of stevia, or more to taste
1/2 tsp gluten free vanilla extract
2 tbsp fresh diced peaches + more slices for serving
1 tsp poppyseeds
1 1/2 tsp coconut oil, butter or other oil for pan (or cooking spray if preferred)

Directions

1.  Heat griddle or large frying pan over medium-low heat.
2. In a blender (I use the individual serving Cuisinart here) or small food processor, add oats and pulse until resembles a flour. Add ingredients cottage cheese through peaches and blend until well combined. Stir in poppseeds.
3. Add oil or butter to pan until melted. A couple tablespoons at a time, add batter to the pan and cook golden brown on the bottom and there are a few bubbles on the surface. Flip and cook another 2 minutes or so until golden brown.
4. Garnish with peach slices and/or your favorite pancake topping (more butter, maple syrup, honey, applesauce, fruit compote, coconut butter etc) and serve!!!

Makes 6-8 small/medium pancakes, serves one hungry person (me after my workout) or 2 small portions

14 thoughts on “Peach Poppyseed Cottage Cheese Pancakes

  1. Nora,
    I’m not a big breakfast fan, nor do I love pancakes but I know the importance of a good breakfast and want more protein and less carbs so I thought, what the heck.
    So the only problem I had with the recipe is that the pancakes never made it to the table. While I was waiting for the second batch to cook, I stood at the stove and ate the first batch…with my fingers! Didn’t even bother with a fork. I also didn’t bother putting anything on top. Loved them straight.

    • I am SO glad these turned out well for you and that you found a pancake recipe you like! Loved your comment, it made me smile 🙂 I too have eaten these straight from the pan, you just can’t help it! Thanks so much for your feedback!

  2. I recently discovered cottage cheese pancakes and I love them! I tried this recipe for breakfast this morning and they were verrry good… I loved the addition of peaches. I topped mine with extra peaches and pure maple syrup… yummm! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Road Trip and Protein Nut Butter Balls « Natural Noshing

  4. I am not going to admit how many times I have made this recipe this week :). Suffice it to say these are so TASTY! I used frozen peaches and followed the recipe exactly. One thing i’ve found is that its best to make the batter the day of, otherwise they have a crepe like consistency. As always thanks for another yummy recipe.

  5. Pingback: High Protein Oatmeal Pancakes with Mixed Berry Chia Jam « Natural Noshing

Leave a comment