Honey Roasted Snack Mix

June 14, 2011 at 8:00 am 9 comments

First off, I would like to say a big “HAPPY BIRTHDAY” shout out to my wonderful and one-of-a-kind dad!!! I owe a great deal of who I am today to my dad, so I want to thank him for all that he has done for me and let him know I will always be his “little girl” no matter how old I get (he keeps reminding me of that…) Dad, I wish you the best birthday ever and am wishing I was back home so we could celebrate together.

Excuse the photo - it's the most recent of just us together...Fall 2010

I typically like to bake for others for their birthdays or special occasions…but since my dad lives in Texas and it’s blazing hot down there right now, I was afraid that most baked goods wouldn’t travel well unless they were ice-packed. He loves mixed nuts and snacky foods so I thought I’d whip up a sweet treat for his special day.

I used already-roasted nuts to put this snack mix together more quickly. After all, I did need to get it in the mail for his birthday and I was running short on time :) I’d like to make another batch using raw nuts (maybe walnuts, pecans and almonds!) and roast them on my own for ultimate freshness. I’m also thinking of flavor variations  – adding some vanilla and cinnamon or maybe some chipotle powder to have a sweet, salty and spicy mix! Feel free to use your favorite variety of nuts and/or cereal to make your taste buds happy! This mix is addicting. I gave you your warning…

And now onto the recipe : )

Honey Roasted Snack Mix 

Ingredients

2/3 cup roasted, unsalted cashews
1/2 cup roasted, unsalted peanuts
1/2 cup roasted, unsalted almonds
2 1/2 Tbsp honey
2 Tbsp unsalted butter or ghee
1 tsp sea salt, optional
1 1/2 cups mini gluten free pretzels (or other wheat-based pretzel if you can eat gluten)
2 Tbsp coconut sugar or other granulated sugar, optional

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment or foil.
2. Combine honey and butter in a medium size bowl and microwave on 50% power level until butter is melted (about one minute).  Add salt to the butter-honey mixture and stir to combine.
3. Add cashews, almonds and peanuts to the bowl and toss until evenly coated. Spread coated nuts on the baking sheet in a single, even layer and bake for 6 minutes. Remove from oven, stir once and place back in the oven to bake another 5 more minutes.
4. Remove baking sheet from oven and let cool slightly, then spoon into a large mixing bowl. Add sugar if using and toss to coat. Add pretzels and stir to combine. Let cool completely and store in an air-tight container for up to two weeks (if it lasts that long!).

Recipe Notes: You can use roasted salted nuts and omit the extra salt in the recipe.

Entry filed under: Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks. Tags: , , , , .

Moroccan Chickpea Salad Peach Poppyseed Cottage Cheese Pancakes

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. glutenfreegimmethree  |  June 14, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Yum! I’ll bet that Honey Nut Chex would be great in this

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  June 14, 2011 at 3:01 pm

      I bet you are right! :) good thinking!

      Reply
  • 3. Your Daddy  |  June 14, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    I just tried some and the Snack Mix could not be better, primarily because it was made with special love by “my little girl.” It’s GREAT!

    I am glad that your package made it today. Thank you for everything and for giving me an extra special gift.

    Love You,

    Your Daddy

    Reply
  • [...] cinnamon, optional (I love the sweetness) 1/2 tsp gluten free vanilla extract 1/3 cup of honey roasted peanuts, chopped (or regular roasted or toffee peanuts would work too) 1/3 cup chocolate or carob chips or [...]

    Reply
  • 5. Lacey @ dishfolio.com  |  June 17, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Yum! We’d love for you to share with us at dishfolio.com!

    Reply
  • 6. Honey Roasted Peanut Butter  |  June 17, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    [...] Honey Roasted Snack Mix « Natural Noshing And now onto the recipe : ). Honey Roasted Snack Mix. Ingredients. 2/3 cup roasted, unsalted cashews 1/2 cup roasted, unsalted peanuts 1/2 cup roasted, unsalted almonds 2 1/2 Tbsp honey 2 Tbsp unsalted butter or ghee [...]

    Reply
  • 7. Road Trip and Protein Nut Butter Balls « Natural Noshing  |  October 2, 2011 at 11:09 am

    [...] snack mix and some dried fruit [...]

    Reply
  • 8. 7 Ingredients for a Healthy Holiday Season « Natural Noshing  |  December 21, 2011 at 10:30 am

    [...] on board with this ingredient! A few ways to incorporate more nuts: For snacks, whip up a batch of honey roasted snack mix or protein nut butter balls If you’re in the mood for a savory main dish try turkey chili [...]

    Reply
  • 9. 25 + Snack Mixes & Munchies For Casual Entertaining  |  July 22, 2013 at 11:27 am

    […] light corn syrup, salt, baking soda, vanilla, cinnamon chips, toffee bits, pecans, dried apple bits.Honey Roasted: Cashews, peanuts and almonds (unsalted), honey, sea salt, mini gluten free pretzels, coconut sugar […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 969 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

