No-Tomato Ketchup (Nightshade-Free)

Tomato-free ketchup…is that a thing? YES! It looks like the real thing with a deep red hue and a tangy yet sweet taste. I’ve been eliminating nightshades amongst a few others food groups from my diet as recommended from my naturopath to see if some of my digestive issues and aches and pains subside. As things progress, I’ll be sharing a bit about my journey but for now you might be seeing some alternative recipes.

I love how that forces me to think outside the box…experiment a little, and switch up my routine. I’d be fibbing if I said it comes with great ease for my type-A, routine-driven, planner personality but it’s a great lesson (once again) in flexibility. Plus, if something isn’t working or feels “off”, then change is a must, and just the nudge I needed 🙂

no tomato ketchup 1

If you aren’t familiar with the nightshade family, Jane’s Healthy Kitchen has an easy-to-understand yet comprehensive post…. click here for more information.  To give you a short rundown, nightshades are part of the Solanaceae family and consist of foods such as tomatoes, white potatoes, bell peppers, hot peppers, eggplant, tomatillos as well as goji berries, ashwagandha, paprika, and even tobacco.

While I am avoid nightshades, I am looking for alternatives and substitutes in the meantime, and I thought I’d experiment with No-tomato Ketchup to start…after all, it is America’s favorite condiment…or has Sriracha replaced that? 🙂

no tomato ketchup 2

No-Tomato, Nightshade-free Ketchup (adapted from He Won’t Know It’s Paleo)
Gluten-free, Grain-free, Soy-free, AIP and Paleo-friendly, Vegan, Nut-free, Dairy-free, Refined Sugar-free, Nightshade-free
Ingredients

1 cup carrots, peeled and diced
2/3 cup red beet (can use golden but won’t have red ketchup color), peeled and diced
1/2 cup yellow onion, diced
2/3 cup water
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup honey, agave or date syrup for vegan
1 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/8 tsp clove
1/8 tsp allspice

Directions
  1. Add beets, carrots and onion to a medium saucepan, cover with water and bring to a boil. Cook for 10-15 minutes or until tender.
  2. While vegetables are boiling, add remaining ingredients (2/3 cup water through spices) to blender (high speed like a Vitamix is recommended for silky smooth texture). Strain and add vegetables to blender when they are through cooking.
  3. Carefully blend on high until liquefied.
  4. Return blended mixture to sauce pan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes until desired consistency is achieved.

Use a dipping sauce for sweet potato fries, as a base for a tomato-free BBQ sauce, slathered on meatloaf, a sandwich or a burger!

no tomato ketchup

23 thoughts on “No-Tomato Ketchup (Nightshade-Free)

  1. Pingback: Ketchup | Peanut-Free Migraine Mom

  2. Thank you for your recipe my husband is on nightshade free diet. How long will this stay good in the fridge? I was wondering if I could double batch it put it in a cleaned out ketchup bottle and leave it in the fridge for a month. If it last that long my husband uses a lot of ketchup!

  3. I have made this recipe twice and followed it to the tee…except, I have used my homemade canned tomato sauce that isn’t much more than blended tomatoes and water. Made it in the crockpot. The ketchup is awesome. I did not like other ketchups made with tomato paste! This works out wonderfully! Keeps for several months.

  4. When I first saw this recipe, I am sure didn’t think it would work. Much to my delight and surprise, this works really well. It does taste very much like ketchup.

    • I’m so glad you’re enjoying it! Yes you can freeze it in an ice cube tray and then when ready to defrost, put some cubes in an airtight container with a lid and run in under hot water

Leave a comment