French Dip Sandwich with Au Jus (Slow Cooker – SRC)

I don’t eat much red meat. While I love a good steak on occasion, I typically opt for a seafood, veggie or poultry dish when cooking at home. Boy, that might change after making this fuss-free recipe!

french dip 1
I adapted this dish from
The Spiffy Cookie’s recipe for a slow cooker French dip sandwich. I was assigned Erin’s delicious blog this month for the Secret Recipe Club and could not choose what I wanted to make! I was salivating just looking through her recipes with many calling my name like her Reese’s Oatmeal breakfast cookie and Guiltless Avocado Alfredo with Spicy Chicken.

I’ve already started a list of must-makes from her archives but in the end, I selected a dish that forced me to dust off my crockpot that I hadn’t used in ages and get outside my comfort zone with my protein choice– the French dip.

french dip2

I adapted the recipe slightly by using London broil in place of chuck roast, rubbed the meat with onion powder and a pinch of dried rosemary and then seared the meat prior to adding to the slow cooker to add a little color. I also used a combo of coconut aminos and gluten free tamari in place of the soy sauce and omitted the Worcestershire sauce as I didn’t have any on hand. Since I love mushrooms and will find any excuse to include them in a recipe, I sauteed a few for an added bonus to my sandwich.

Not only did I break out my crockpot, I made my own homemade grain-free rolls to serve with this oh-so-tender meat (recipe to come)! Topped with melted cheese, sautéed mushrooms and onions, this French dip sandwich was one tasty, flavorful bite! Plus, the leftovers are yummy in a beef and veggie soup or on top of salad greens 🙂

french dip

French Dip Sandwich with Au Jus (Slow Cooker) (adapted from The Spiffy Cookie)

Ingredients:

3 tsp oil, Earth Balance or butter, divided (use oil or Earth Balance for dairy free)
1 medium yellow onion
1 cup low sodium beef broth/stock
1/4 cup gluten free soy sauce, tamari, Braggs or coconut aminos (I used 3 Tbsp coconut aminos and 1 Tbsp tamari)
1/2 cup water
1/4 tsp onion powder
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tbsp creole mustard
~3lb London Broil (or chuck roast)
pinch of dried rosemary, optional

sea salt & pepper
2-3 cups sliced mushrooms
6-8 gluten free sandwich rolls, split
6-8 slices of provolone or swiss cheese (can use a dairy free cheese or omit if needed)

Directions:

  1. Slice the onion into ~1/4-inch rounds. Keeping the rounds intact, place them in the bottom of the crockpot.
  2. Sprinkled the meat with salt, pepper and onion powder. Heat a large saute pan over medium-high heat and add 2 tsp oil/butter. Sear the meat on all sides until golden brown to seal in the juices and give the meat a little color.
  3. Add beef broth, soy sauce/tamari/ aminos, mustard, rosemary and garlic to the crockpot.
  4. Place meat on top of the onions.
  5. Cook on low 6-7 hours until beef is fall-apart tender.
  6. Shred meat with a fork or transfer the roast to a cutting board and thinly slice.
  7. Remove the onions and set aside. I strain the juice into a large “defatter” measuring cup and get rid of the oil that collects on top (I .
  8. Return the roast, juice, and onions to the crockpot for up to an hour before serving (I usually switch it to “Keep Warm” so it doesn’t continue cooking).
  9. While meat is on “warm”, heat a medium saute pan with remaining 1 tsp of oil/butter. Add mushrooms and cook until golden brown, stirring often. Season with salt and pepper is desired.
  10. Heat the broiler. Place the split sandwich rolls on a lined baking sheet and toast for 1 minute or just until the bread begins to brown.
  11. Remove the tops from the pan. Lay the beef on the bottom of the rolls and top with mushrooms and cheese.
  12. Return to the oven just until cheese is melted. Top with onions and sandwich halves and serve with small bowls of au jus, Enjoy!

french dip bite

For other scrumptious recipes from this month’s assignments, visit the link below!


19 thoughts on “French Dip Sandwich with Au Jus (Slow Cooker – SRC)

  1. Delicious recipe for your SRC!

    I look forward to the bread recipe too, seems like a perfect kind of bread for this sandwich…

    Hope you are enjoying the reveal day!

  2. OMG I can’t wait for your gluten-free sandwich roll recipe! It looks awesome in the pictures.

    …oh, and the French Dip looks swell too!

  3. Pingback: Chorizo Ragu Stuffed Spaghetti Squash | The Spiffy Cookie

Leave a comment