Cocoa-Kissed Chia Energy Bombs

I’m always looking for healthy portable snacks and bite-sized goodies I can take with me when I’m on-the-go. With candy and treats surrounding me ALL DAY at work, it’s nice to bring something sweet to munch on so I don’t give in to all the tempting yet processed stuff staring at me in the face when my afternoon sweet tooth hits 🙂

cocoa kissed chia energy bombs

You know, that chocolate monster that just won’t go away unless you feed it a little something? Some people have will power…I just trick my taste buds instead!

These no-bake energy bombs are the perfect homemade snack or treat and can be adapted to your liking! Add your favorite dried fruit, chopped nuts, shredded coconut, nut or seed butter or even mini chocolate chips or unsweetened carob chips for a little more decadence! If chocolate isn’t your thing, you could even omit the cocoa powder for a “blond” version.

cocoa kissed chia energy bombs 2

Cocoa-Kissed Chia Energy Bombs
Gluten-free, Egg-free, No-Bake, Dairy-Free, Vegan Option, Nut-free Option 

Ingredients

3/4 cup gluten free oats (I used Bob Red Mills) — could even try quinoa flakes for a change!
5 Tbsp ground flaxseed (I grind mine in my Magic Bullet using the “S” blade)*
1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (I used finely shredded but regular works too)**
1 Tbsp unsweetened raw cacao or cocoa powder
1 Tbsp black or white chia seeds
rounded 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon (can omit but I love the flavor and health benefits of cinnamon)
4 Tbsp honey, agave or maple syrup (do not use honey if strict vegan)***
1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp creamy or chunky peanut butter, almond butter, cashew butter or sunflower seed butter (use sunflower seed butter for nut-free)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Add-ins (Optional)
1/4 cup chocolate chips, raisins, dried cranberries, chopped dried fruit, cacao nibs, chopped nuts/seeds
or even add in your favorite extracts or spices

Directions

1. In a medium bowl, combine all dry ingredients.
2. In a large bowl, combine all wet ingredients. Next, add dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until wet combined.
3. Chill for 20-30 minutes in the refrigerator. Use a spoon or your hands and scoop into rounded tablespoons then rolls into balls. Store in a container in the fridge and enjoy!

Makes 14-16 energy bombs (unless you eat the dough like me!)

*If you don’t have flaxseed, you could probably sub the flaxseed meal with a nut meal like almond flour or even a protein powder for added protein (if you try this let me know this works, I like the added fiber and nutty flavor from the flax).

**I’ve made these sans-coconut as well, just increase the oats by a 1/3 cup

***You might be able to use date paste in this recipe but you may need a little more to help hold everything together, or increase the nut butter a bit…depending on the consistency of the date paste and nut butters. I use natural nut and seeds butters (just nuts/seeds and salt) so you may have to add a little more oats or sweetener to help hold the mixture together depending on the ingredients used. If it’s too crumbly, add more sweetener, if the mixture is too runny then add a bit more oats or flax.

cocoa kissed chia energy bombs1

28 thoughts on “Cocoa-Kissed Chia Energy Bombs

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Tasty Sugar Free Desserts

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Tasty Sugar Free Desserts - Top Inspired

  3. Pingback: Cocoa-Kissed Chia Energy Bombs | Home

  4. These are just so good. I’ve made them both with almond butter/maple syrup, and peanut butter/honey, with and without cocoa (I must say, the cocoa is yummy). I double the chia seeds.

  5. These are great, I went to the Amcal chemist in Waurn Ponds to buy Cacoa powder and the sales assistant gave me the recipe, which has now brought me to this site.

  6. Pingback: No Bake Energy Balls | Mama's Style

  7. Great recipe until I got to the part about nut butter. How is it but free if you use some kind of nut butter? Would coconut oil work?

  8. Made two batches of these already in one day! They’re so good! But do you have any nutrition facts on them (i.e., serving size, calories)? I want to know otherwise I’d eat them all in one sitting:P thanks for sharing!

  9. It would be great to know the Carb count, Protein count and Fibre count of these energy bombs. Thanks for sharing any of these data points … even if just an estimate based on your experience. Thanks!

  10. These are amazing! I made them with honey, no extra add-ins, and came up with about 1500 calories for the whole batch, if anyone’s curious. The “per ball” count depends on how big you make them.

  11. These are amazing! I am trying to be mindful of my gluten and sugar and these are a great snack to keep on hand! I’ve been making a batch a day! The only problem is they are not but safe for a school snack for my kids.

  12. Pingback: 19 Simple Healthy Recipes Picky Eaters Will Enjoy This Season - Project Grace

Leave a comment