“Nutella” Ice Cream (Non-Dairy) – SRC

Today’s dessert recipe was inspired by Dorothy of Shockingly Delicious. I was assigned her blog this month for the Secret Recipe Club and was thrilled to have been introduced to her delectable recipes – and so many to choose from!

I decided on her Nutella Ice Cream, not only because it’s on her favorite’s list but because it spurred me to make my own homemade “Nutella” AND it gave me the urge to use my ice cream maker after 6 months of hibernation. There’s something about frozen desserts when it’s still cold outside that is still really appealing. Does anyone else still crave ice cream in the fall and winter?

nutella ice cream1

I altered Dorothy’s recipe to make it dairy free and refined sugar free. I decided to double all of the ingredients because I wanted more than just a pint…what can I say, I like dessert! I started off by making my own homemade Nutella. I also added a bit more cocoa for a greater chocolate kick (this could be due to my homemade version), subbed coconut nectar for sugar, and used Mimic Creme and almond milk in place of cow’s milk and heavy cream. For a little garnish, I also chopped up extra hazelnuts and tossed on cacao nibs for added texture…mmmm!

This recipe was chocolately, nutty, creamy and rich-tasting without the dairy and guilt 🙂 The perfect sweet ending to a long day!

nutella ice cream 2

Chocolate Hazelnut aka  “Healthier Nutella” Ice Cream (inspired by Shockingly Delicious)
Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Vegan, Grain-free, Refined Sugar-Free

Ingredients 

1 1/2 cups unsweetened Mimic Creme* (could substitute canned coconut milk if preferred)
1 1/4 cups unsweetened almond milk or other non-dairy milk (chocolate, vanilla or plain all work here – I used vanilla)
1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp chocolate hazelnut spread/”Healthy Nutella”**
6-8 Tbsp coconut nectar (or agave syrup) to taste (depends on how sweet you want your ice cream, remember when it gets cold it is less sweet!)
pinch of sea salt
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
optional: 1 rounded Tbsp unsweetened cacao or cocoa powder for extra chocolate boost

For garnish: chopped hazelnuts and chocolate chips or cacao nibs OR you could mix them into the ice cream maker toward the end if want them incorporated into the ice cream

Directions

1. Put all ingredients in a blender and blend on low speed just until combined. This will take 15 or so seconds. Pour into container for electric ice cream maker and process until frozen, following manufacturer’s instructions for your machine. You may chill the mixture before processing if you like, but it is not necessary.
2. Eat immediately (it will be a soft-serve consistency, or scoop into a container and freeze for several hours to harden it further.

Makes 2 pints.

*For a creamier and richer ice cream, use all Mimic Creme or coconut milk instead of the non-dairy milk.

**If you are in a pinch and don’t have time to make your own homemade nut butter, you can find healthier versions of chocolate-hazelnut butters in health food stores if you want to go that route 🙂

nutella ice cream biteFor other recipes from the Secret Recipe Club posts today, click here!


16 thoughts on ““Nutella” Ice Cream (Non-Dairy) – SRC

  1. This looks perfectly delicious and I do like ice cream in the winter!
    I once insisted my hubby drive me to Baskin Robbins for a German Chocolate Cake Ice Cream Cone (I’m sure I was pregnant, and we had a 4 wheel drive)!

  2. Your ice cream looks delicious! I would like a bowl of it, please. Thanks for visiting my blog this month and getting inspired!

  3. Hi there. The current Food on Friday on Carole’s Chatter is collecting links to posts about ice cream and sorbets – or anything similar like gelato. I do hope you link this in. This is the link . Please do check out some of the other links – there are a lot of good ones already. Have a great week.

Leave a comment