Grain-Free Fudge Brownies

Yikes! It seems as if I’ve been away for SO long! With summer fast approaching, our yogurt business is ramping up, my family has been in town for a visit and I haven’t had much time in the kitchen this week. I did have time for chocolate though…I MADE time for brownies.

After all, chocolate + baking = important. Agreed?

I can’t resist a good brownie and these were no exception. Coconut flour goodies have been hit or miss with me, but I was really pleased with the result of these chocolately squares. I don’t think the photos do them any justice though, they were much more fudgy-tasting and fudgy-looking in person, that might have something to do with refrigerating them overnight and the raw cacao powder used. Either way, these are scrumptious!

Grain-Free Fudge Brownies

Ingredients
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup cacao powder, cocoa or carob powder or a combo (I used raw cacao which resulted in a lighter color)
1/3 cup coconut/palm sugar or 1/4 cup honey/agave for denser, fudgy brownie
2 Tbsp chia meal or flaxseed meal
1/8 tsp pure stevia extract (or 3 more Tbsp of sweetener)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 eggs
3 Tbsp coconut oil (or butter/ghee), liquified/melted
2 Tbsp unsweetened applesauce (or more oil/butter for a richer brownie)
2 Tbsp nut butter (or more oil/butter for nut free), melted
1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used coconut milk)
3-4 Tbsp chocolate chunks or chips
1/3 cup pecans or walnuts, chopped (if desired – omit for nut free)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease a loaf pan for thicker brownier or a 8×8 baking dish for thinner brownies and set aside.
2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients (flour through salt). In a separate small bowl, stir together wet ingredients (eggs through milk).
3. Add wet ingredients to the dry and stir until moistened. Stir in the chocolate and nuts, if using.
4. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared baking dish. If desired, sprinkle additional nuts/chocolate on top. Bake for 16-20 minutes until cooked through. Let cool in pan for atleast 15 minutes prior to cutting.

These were tasty from the pan but I enjoyed them chilled overnight from the fridge…I may or may not have had these for breakfast once or twice 🙂

9 thoughts on “Grain-Free Fudge Brownies

  1. looks great!!! wanna try!!!
    seems like grain-free is becoming a big trend…do you think this is paleo effect? I’ve recently came across a youtube series called Primitive Nutrition and it really cleared up the truth for me 😦

  2. Yummy! I don’t know how I missed these! They look wonderful. 🙂 I’m happy that they came out well. Coconut flour’s weird. Half the time, stuff comes out well and the other half, I can’t even eat whatever I’ve made. And I do the brownies in the fridge thing too. It’s so weird that putting them in the fridge makes them fudgy, but I guess it makes sense now that I think about the butter or whatever getting firmer. Oh and I’m happy business is picking up. 🙂

  3. These are the best coconut brownies I have ever had! I added coconut flakes..it kind of gives it an almond joy taste. Also I added Chocolate frosting(cocoa powder powder sugar and chocolate almond milk and a tbs. of coconut oil.) Thanks for the recipe.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Web Round-Up » Get Fit Naturally | Get Fit Naturally

Leave a comment