Apple Pie Cheesecake Smoothie

I bought a huge case of unsweetened applesauce at Costco a couple weeks ago and I’ve been trying to come up with creative ways to use it. Since I am back onto smoothies (after what I am calling a “holiday and new year hiatus”), I’ve been branching out and trying new flavor combinations. Ever since Sonia posted her apple cheesecake smoothie, I knew I had to give it a go with a few changes based on what I had on hand. I am happy to report that I am ecstatic about the results!

This smoothie recipe seriously tastes like an apple pie cheesecake in liquid form. I was dancing around my kitchen doing a fist pump as I was trying to sip this smoothie and savor all it’s deliciousness. After several near-spills, I quieted down and drank my smoothie with a giant smile on my face instead of a full-out dance 🙂

This is a must try smoothie recipe if you are a fan of apple pie and/or cheesecake. It’s thick, creamy and decadent – it might just be my favorite smoothie yet. Though I used cottage cheese, you might be able to make this vegan/dairy free by using silken tofu and adding a bit of nutritional yeast for the cheese factor, I’d like to try it for myself!

Apple Pie Cheesecake Smoothie (adapted from The Healthy Foodie)

Ingredients

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup raw red apple, diced (I used Gala OR 2 more Tbsp applesauce)
1/2 cup cottage cheese (vegan might be able to sub 1/2 cup  silken tofu & add 2 tsp nutritional yeast)
1/2 scoop vanilla or plain protein powder, optional
1 Tbsp roasted or raw almond butter
1 Tbsp flaxseed meal (or chia seed)
3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or other non-dairy milk of choice)
1/4 to 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (I use the latter)
one shake of ground cloves (small pinch)
splash of pure vanilla extract

chopped or sliced almonds + cinnamon for optional garnish

Directions

1. Add all ingredients except for garnish in a blender or a Magic Bullet and process until very smooth and well incorporated (about one minute). Pour into a glass, top with almonds and a shake of ground cinnamon. Enjoy!

Serves 1

23 thoughts on “Apple Pie Cheesecake Smoothie

  1. This post is timely – I just bought a blender yesterday and I’m on a smoothie mission – this looks like a good way to break the blender in and put a dent in my ridiculous apple stash. And there’s nothing wrong with dancing in the kitchen – I once knocked a bowl of fruit off the counter with my enthusiastic happy-food-dance over a piece of cherry pie.

    • Good timing on both of our parts! Apples in a smoothie is really delicious, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!
      I cant totally imagine myself doing an enthusiastic dance over cherry pie and knocking something over…it’d be worth it! 🙂

  2. I have no idea how I missed this post when Sonia made it! I have open applesauce and cottage cheese (which is actually reserved for Sonia’s alfredo sauce) but I will sacrifice some on the weekend for this. It looks so good! And such a huge portion. Yummy. 🙂

    • I want to make Sonia’s alfredo sauce too — mmmmmm! I think you would be quite pleased with the results if you can manage to portion some out for this smoothie! I plan to make more flavor variations on it too!

  3. Hey, hey, enough talking about me you girls! 😉 Thank goodness it’s all good stuff! 😀

    And good god, Nora, your smoothie looks amazing! I’m definitely going to have to give your version a try. Now I’m torn. I have 2 apples left in the fridge, but I have plans for them. I could’ve had this gorgeous smoothie right in the morning, after my workout.

    Maybe I could pass by the store and by MORE apples! 😉 It just looks so good, I won’t rest until I’ve tried it!

    Oh, and thanks for the mention! Glad I could inspire this beauty!

    • I could never say one thing bad about you Sonia, so of course it’s all accolades over here!
      Thanks for much the inspiration Sonia – my new favorite thing for breakfast is this smoothie, seriously good stuff! I want to do another happy dance just thinking about it! I think you may have to buy more apples 🙂

  4. To help celebrate your opening, I made this smoothie! That makes no sense, but it’s what I did. 😀

    I used normal cow’s milk because that’s what we have and it’s delicious! I’m sure with almond milk it’d be even yummier. Now I can eat cottage cheese in two things! But it still freaks me out when not blended. It’s just so… unnatural looking. You and Sonia do good work. 🙂

    I’m going to make this often and when fall comes back around I’m sure I’ll be making this all the time. Thanks for the recipe!

    • That makes sense in my mind! Dessert smoothie = sort of yogurt consistency if not frozen? hehe
      The almond milk gives a bit of a nutty flavor to it in the background but then again, I use that and coconut milk constantly! I had a friend try this smoothie and they said the same thing about the texture – it is a little strange 🙂 Now I just need to make more “cheesecake” smoothie variations!

      • sometimes apples give smoothies a bit of a grainy texture, if you slice and cook them in the oven for a bit it takes it away and brings out the apple flavour a bit more too.

  5. Holy yum! I love cheesecake and apple pie, but they can be a bit too rich or sweet for me to eat for dessert…so having them both combined in a liquid form would be perfect! I wonder if it would work to add blended cashews to get the cheesecake taste (either instead of or in addition to cottage cheese, since I never have that on hand)

  6. Pingback: Green Goddess Shake « Natural Noshing

  7. Pingback: 5-Minute Cheesecake Mousse « Natural Noshing

Leave a comment