Roasted Fajita-Spiced Chickpeas

I love to snack on almonds, pecans, peanuts, cashews, sunflower seeds, pepitas etc… I guess you get the picture that I adore a variety of nuts…but what was I to do when I ran out of my favorite snack? I needed to find an easy, baked and crunchy replacement — roasted chickpeas to the rescure!

These little guys (or gals) are addiciting and make a great stand in for a bar snack, help satisfy my craving for salty crackers or nuts and are easily adaptable to your favorite spices and herbs. It’s a simple recipe that takes a few minutes to pull together but for an even quicker prep, sub the spices, salt and pepper with about half a packet or so of taco or fajita seasoning 🙂

I can keep these in my purse for a quick snack on the go or add them to salad for a grain-free, gluten-free and high protein “crouton”!

Roasted Fajita-Spiced Chickpeas

Ingredients

2 (15-ounce) cans chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans)
2 Tbsp light tasting oil (olive, grapeseed etc)
1/2 tsp sea salt, more or less to taste
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 Tablespoon chili powder
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, omit or reduce if you don’t like heat

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a large baking sheet with a silicone mat or foil.
2. Drain and rinse chickpeas in a colander.  Drain them well, shaking excess water let air dry or pat dry with towel.
3. In a medium mixing bowl, combine oil, salt, pepper and spices. Add chickpeas and toss to coat the chickpeas well.
4. Spread the chickpeas onto baking sheet in a single layer and bake for 40-50 minutes until crispy, shaking pan once or twice in the middle of cooking. Serve warm or let cool and enjoy!

Store in air-tight container once completely cooled.

This recipe is featured on this week’s Wellness Weekend at Ricki’s Diet Dessert and Dogs blog !

24 thoughts on “Roasted Fajita-Spiced Chickpeas

  1. That is so cool! Sounds like an amazing snack to have in the house… Do they get real crispy and crunchy? Oh, I want to try this right now, but I don’t think they would be too good with dry chickpeas… Off to soak some!

    Gee, this is like the second time in like under a month that you get me soaking chickpeas, Miss Nora! :o)

    • I can’t wait for your rendition Sonia! I think you’ll love these and you are always so creative!!!

      Yep, they shrink in size and get crisp/crunchy like a corn nut (you can determine just how crunchy to suit your tastes, just don’t let them burn) If you want them even more crispy and crunchy, you can bake them first without any oil for about 20-25 minutes, then toss them in the oil and spices and bake them until they are fully crisp.

      I’ve made versions with italian seasonings and tossed them in Parmesan toward the end of baking, plain roasted and salted as well as an Indian-spiced with cumin, coriander and a little curry powder. So easy!

      • OK, you should’ve warned me that these were so highly addictive! My daughter made a batch last week-end… and, well… I think you can safely remove the “store in airtight container” mention from your post, because trust me, there’s no need, nor time, to store these. They be gone before you they even have time to completely cool down! Well, almost! ;o)

        Thank you for this brilliant inspiration, I get the feeling that I will be trying lots of different combos! I’m thinking honey mustard… for starters!

      • Disclaimer: yes, they are highly addictive! I guess I left that out by accident! But at least it’s better than eating a bag of chips? I love them right off the pan too…I even burned my mouth a but because I couldn’t wait for them to cool…
        Oh my goodness, a honey mustard version would be AMAZING!!!! Please, please make a batch and post the recipe!!!

  2. Oh my gosh, yummm!! This sounds so tasty. I love ALL your recipes! You always have new unique recipes but with real flavors that arent over the top but still interesting and delicious. I read your blog about everyday but i like never comment so i just thought i should let you know how awesome your blog is and how much i love getting those emails that youve published a new postt 🙂

    • Thanks so much Casey, you made my day! You are too sweet, thanks for reading my blog : ) I’m so glad you like my wacky combos!!!
      I just checked out your site and your s’mores brownies look SO delish! What a great idea!

  3. These sound fantastic! I love roasted chickpeas, I love spice. . . so this is a perfect combination for me! Thanks so much for submitting the recipe to Wellness Weekend this week! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Anti-Candida, Sugar-Free, Vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Diet, Dessert and Dogs

  5. Pingback: Roasted Chickpeas and an update on my new ride | The Healthy Foodie

  6. Pingback: Roasted Fajita-Spiced Chickpeas « Kats’ Kitchen

  7. Pingback: Pan Fried Chickpeas

  8. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes for 2011 and Happy New Year! « Natural Noshing

  9. Pingback: Potato Chip Problem. « Chickiepea's Blog

  10. Pingback: Speedy Sweets N’ Snacks « Natural Noshing

  11. Pingback: Pizza-Flavored Tempeh Chips « Natural Noshing

  12. Pingback: Roasted Chickpeas | Pinterest Cooking Adventures

  13. Pingback: Anti-Candida, Sugar-Free, Vegan Wellness Weekend Event | Ricki Heller

  14. Pingback: Roasted Garam masala chickpeas. Vegan glutenfree - Vegan Richa

  15. Pingback: The Best (and Easiest) Study Snacks | Magoosh

Leave a comment