Chilled Melon Soup and a New Skill

Today I learned something new – how to use a log splitter! This may not be a novel activity for some but it was for me. There was a ton of wood that needed to be cut into smaller pieces for firewood and the family joined together and got the job done this morning. I started out splitting the logs and then helped gather and stack alongside the house. Not only was the weather was perfect this morning, I got a hefty dose of Vitamin D from the warm sunshine 🙂 No complaints here!

For everyone that is experiencing blazin’ hot weather – here’s a light, chilled cantaloupe soup to help cool you down! This soup can be whipped up in 5 minutes and is a great snack, refreshing appetizer or palate cleanser.

This recipe is a delicious and different way to incorporate summer melons on sale right now. With sweetness from the cantaloupe, a little tang from the yogurt, a slight heat from the ginger and brightness from the lemon, this soup is definitely a keeper in my book!

I cut up my melon the day before so it was nice and chilled so I could enjoy the dish after blending, but make sure to refrigerate the blended mixture prior to serving if some ingredients are at room temperature…plus this allows the flavors to meld : )

Chilled Cantaloupe Summer Soup

Ingredients

1 medium cantaloupe, cut into chunks (I used a sweet Tuscan melon)
¼ cup to ½ cup plain yogurt
1 to 2 T grated fresh ginger (I love ginger, but use to taste)
Juice from one lemon plus zest from 1/3 to 1/2 lemon
1 or 2 pinches of sea salt
Dash of ground cinnamon, optional
A few basil or mint leaves, optional
A drizzle of honey (I didn’t use this since my melon was really sweet but could see how some might like this, depending on your taste buds)

For garnish
Lemon zest
Small melon balls
Basil leaves
Drizzle of yogurt

Directions

1. Add all ingredients to blender and blend until well combined. Refrigerate until well chilled, garnish if desired and enjoy!

11 thoughts on “Chilled Melon Soup and a New Skill

  1. Nora my goodness, you are beautiful! You simply glow in that picture. Is it the log splitting that is making you so happy?

    Your soup looks superb. Seeing how cantaloupe is one of my ultimate favorite fruits, I will definitely have to try that!

    Love your pics too! Gorgeous! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Spiced Cherry Overnight Oats and Montana Recap « Natural Noshing

  3. Pingback: High Protein – Whole Grain Date and Walnut Bread… and when dinner becomes breakfast | The Healthy Foodie

  4. Pingback: Chilled Cantaloupe Soup | The Healthy Foodie

  5. I made this last night. Instead of lemon I used the juice of a lime and the juice of a cara cara. It is so delicious. I ate it last night for dessert, for breakfast, and for a morning snack. I like it with a drizzle of honey on it. Thanks you for the yummy recipe! I love the ginger taste.

  6. Pingback: Beat the Heat with Delicious Cold Fruit Soups – No Milk Today

  7. Pingback: July 4th Weekend | Heavenly Days

  8. Who knew that fresh gingerroot and fresh cantaloupe go so well together! Happily, I had both on hand. I didn’t have any fresh mint, so threw in a few leaves of fresh spinach and whirled it up. I didn’t get it as beautifully smooth as yours, but it was yummy! Thanks!

Leave a comment