Chipotle-Rubbed Salmon Tacos

Grilling and summer go hand-in-hand. Even though we’ve had some pretty stormy (and sometimes chilly) days here in Montana, I have been determined to fire up the grill and get in the summer groove!

chipotle salmon taco 1

My favorite way to prepare salmon is on the grill and I’ve had my eye out on new ways to enjoy my favorite fish. When I was assigned the lovely Bewitching Kitchen for this month’s Secret Recipe Club reveal, at first I was torn on what I wanted to make. Sally’s blog is chock-full of creative recipes – including Brazilian dishes, ethnic recipes and an extensive list of homemade breads – with about 20 different recipes calling my name! I ultimately opted for her Chipotle-Rubbed Salmon Tacos with a unique salsa for a fresh and grill-friendly flare…YUM! chipotle salmon taco 2I make a few adjustments based on my pantry and preferences…I increased the lime juice a bit and pumped up the seasoning in the rub by adding some sea salt. I LOVE strong flavors so I upped the amount of vinegar a tad and added lime juice in the salsa, but I’ll even add a fresh herb like cilantro next time for that extra punch. I wound up using a small, peeled typical cucumber (instead of English), honey and coconut sugar in lieu of the white sugar and homemade mayonnaise in place of the yogurt to keep it dairy-free. 

A note on the salmon– The fattier the fish, the better in my opinion. I ADORE salmon but sometimes the Sockeye variety doesn’t turn out as buttery and succulent as I was going for. Since I was looking for wild-caught salmon, I wound up using Sockeye instead of Alaskan due to availability.

chipotle salmon taco close

Chipotle-Rubbed Salmon Tacos
Gluten-free, Grain-free option, Paleo-friendly option, Dairy-free, Nut-free, Soy-free

Ingredients
2 Tbsp yogurt, mayo, or sour cream (use mayo or Vegenaise for dairy-free)
2 tsp fresh lime juice
2 tsp chipotle chile powder
2 tsp finely grated orange zest
2 tsp coconut palm sugar (or other granulated sugar)
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 pound skinless wild Alaskan salmon fillet, cut into 4 pieces
1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
8 corn tortillas (substitute salad greens or lettuce cups for paleo/grain-free)
1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
1 Hass avocado, mashed with a generous squeeze of lime juice
salt and pepper
1 cup finely shredded cabbage

for salsa:

1 Granny Smith apple, cut into 1/4-inch dice
1/2 English cucumber or , cut into 1/4-inch dice
1 ripe tomato, cut into 1/4-inch dice
1/2 small red bell pepper, cut into 1/4-inch dice
1/2 small red onion, finely diced
1 jalapeno, deseeded and deveined, finely diced (optional)
1 + 1/2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
1 tsp agave or honey
salt and pepper to taste
fresh chopped cilantro, optional

Directions

1. Prepare the salsa by mixing in a bowl the apple, cucumber, tomato, bell pepper, and onion (if using). Add the vinegar and sugar, season with salt, and reserve. It can be prepared hours in advance to intensify the flavors.

2. In a small bowl, mix the yogurt with the lime juice, season with salt and pepper, and reserve. In another small bowl, combine the chipotle powder with the orange zest and sugar. Rub each piece of salmon with 1 teaspoon of the olive oil and then with the chipotle–orange zest mixture. Let stand for 5 minutes.

3. Heat the tortillas either in a low oven, wrapped in foil, or on top of a flame (my method of choice), until they are softened and heated through.

4. Meanwhile, heat a grill pan. Season the salmon with salt and grill over high heat until nicely browned and just cooked through, about 3 minutes per side. Gently break each piece of salmon in half. Spread the mashed avocado on the warm tortillas and top with the salmon, Apple- Cucumber Salsa and the cabbage. Drizzle each taco with the lime/yogurt and serve right away.

chipotle salmon taco handFor other recipes in this month’s reveal, click here!


17 thoughts on “Chipotle-Rubbed Salmon Tacos

  1. Yum! I love fish tacos but I’m not sure if I’ve ever done them with salmon (usually I use white fish) – this looks so yummy! Definitely need to try it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Editor’s Choice: Chipotle Rubbed Salmon Tacos | The Secret Recipe Club

  3. Pingback: Summer Barbecue Recipe Roundup ‹

  4. Pingback: Salmon Tacos | Betty's Tips

Leave a comment