Gooey Chocolate Hazelnut Cakes with Fresh Raspberry Coulis

gooey hazelnut cake biteIt’s official…I reached chocolate heaven. A tender crust with a luscious and velvety chocolate center… talk about melting in your mouth!!!

Are you drooling yet? 🙂

For this month’s Secret Recipe Club assignment, I adapted this recipe from Susan’s Moist Chocolate Hazelnut Cake recipe over at Food.Baby.Life blog. I was in the mood for a chocolate dessert and this recipe did not disappoint! I wanted to add a fresh element to this unctuous dessert so I whipped up a 30 second (literally) fresh raspberry coulis. It complimented the richness of the chocolate perfectly!

This chocolate cake has a molten middle if you cook it partially (which I prefer)…more like a pudding, or keep it in for a minute or two longer for a less moist middle. I was always the one eating the leftover cake and brownie batters out of the mixing bowl, so I definitely prefer the molten center.

gooey hazelnut cake2

I made a few adaptations: I cut the recipe into thirds so it served two instead of six (because let’s be honest, I would have eaten all of the leftovers!). I also added hazelnut extract and vanilla extract in addition to instant coffee to enhance the chocolate hazelnut flavor. I chose to substitute coconut oil for the butter for a dairy free option and used I baked these beauties in 4 oz ramekins, bottoms lined with parchment, since I didn’t have the dariole molds. I also converted the ingredients measurements from weight (grams) to volume (cups/Tbsp/tsp) since that’s what I am most familiar with…though some weren’t exact, the result was scrumptious! .Apparently I need to invest in a scale 🙂 Another great part was that this wasn’t a complicated or lengthy recipe, which of course means I can make it more often right?

gooey hazelnut cake 1

Gooey Chocolate Hazelnut Cakes with Fresh Raspberry Coulis (adapted from Food.Baby.Life)
Grain-free, Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-Free, Refined-Sugar Free Option 

Ingredients

1.5 oz dark chocolate (or unsweetened* see note), chopped
3 Tbsp coconut oil (or butter or ghee) + more for greasing
1/2 rounded tsp gluten-free instant coffee (I used Nescafe decaf)
1 large egg
2 Tbsp granulated sweetener of choice**
1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 tsp hazelnut extract
pinch of pure stevia to taste
small dash of salt (optional but the salt enhances the flavor)
2 Tbsp hazelnut flour (can substitute almond flour for less hazelnut flavor)
cocoa powder for dusting

Fresh Raspberry Coulis, for serving (see recipe below)
Fresh raspberries for serving

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F/180 C. Grease the inside of 2 (4-ounce) ramekins very well with coconut oil. Dust with cocoa powder. Cut two small circles of parchment paper the size of the bottom of the ramekins and line bottoms (I highly recommend this, otherwise they can stick since they are fragile).

2. In a double broiler or in a small bowl over a pan of simmering water, melt the chocolate, coconut oil and coffee. Stir frequently and make sure the water does not touch the bottom of the bowl.

3. In a small mixing bowl, whisk egg, sweetener, salt and extracts with an electric mixer for several minutes or until light, pale and foamy. Slowly fold the melted chocolate mixture into the egg mixture, stirring constantly. Stir in hazelnut flour/meal until well combined.

4. Spoon evenly into the prepared ramekins, place on a baking tray and bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to rest for 1-2 minutes, before inverting onto serving plates (be careful the ramekins are hot!). Drizzle with raspberry coulis and serve with fresh raspberries. Best served when warm!

Serves 2

*If using unsweetened chocolate, increase the sweetener by 2 tbsp or to taste.
**If using coconut/palm sugar or another coarse sweetener , measure the amount first and pulse in a blender to make a finer grain. I haven’t tried this cake with a liquid sweetener so if anyone tries it, please let me know how it turns out…you may need to decrease the heat and cook for a bit longer.

Quick Raspberry Coulis
Gluten-free, Dairy-Free, Vegan, Quick/Easy, No-Bake, Grain-free, Refined Sugar Free

Ingredients

1 (6oz) container of fresh raspberries (could also use your favorite berry for a different flavor)
1-2 Tbsp coconut nectar, agave or honey (use more or less depending on how sweet you prefer your coulis)
juice from 1/2 fresh lime or 1/2 medium lemon (about 1 1/2 Tbsp juice)

Directions

1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree until smooth. You can strain through a fine mesh strainer if you don’t like the a few seeds, but I didn’t feel it was necessary.

gooey hazelnut cake bite 1

For other recipes in this month’s posting, click here.



10 thoughts on “Gooey Chocolate Hazelnut Cakes with Fresh Raspberry Coulis

  1. Oooh, I just saw a bag of hazelnut flour at the store yesterday, and almost passed out at the price, but I do have almond flour… your recipe is amazing, great pick, I suspect you might get to be the “most popular” this month! (I’ve got a feeling for it.. 🙂

    Happy Reveal Day! Loved your post, real awesome job!

  2. I didn’t even know they make hazelnut flour, but I do have almond flour! I might think about getting this hazelnut flour though cause I do love the flavor. Great great great recipe! As per usual. 🙂

  3. Oh I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Your pictures look mouth-watering and I love that I can now find the healthy version here. In a funny coincidence I had your blog this month!

  4. Yummy! I love how this cake looks AMAZING and is free of so many allergens! (hurrah! ) I’m definitely adding this to my list of things to try. Great SRC pick!

  5. Pingback: Gooey Chocolate Hazelnut Cakes with Fresh Raspberry Coulis: Natural Noshings | The Secret Recipe Club

Leave a comment