Bite-Size Peanut Butter Layer Cups (No-Bake, Grain-Free)

Happy Friday! Here’s a sweet treat to kick off the weekend 🙂

I’ve been a little lazy lately with turning on my oven. I have a toaster oven and a typical stove + oven but these warmer Spring days have me craving chilled dishes and fuss-free snacks and desserts.

Plus, dessert isn’t an option for me. I LOVE SWEETS. I eat dessert every night in some form or fashion which gives me the extra push to health-ify my treats so I can enjoy them without the guilt.

These cute little cups fit the bill. 

I’ve professed my love for nut butters over and over again and here’s another tribute to my all-time favorite food. These grain-free peanut butter cups are little bites of heaven…the perfect ending to my day (or anytime you need a little sweet pick-me-up)!

Bite-Size Peanut Butter Layer Cups (No-Bake)

Ingredients

Crust Layer:
3 Tbsp coconut flour
3 Tbsp peanut flour* (OR almond flour or almond meal)
1 Tbsp flaxseed meal
2 tsp coconut oil, melted
1 Tbsp honey, agave,coconut nectar or maple syrup (do not use honey if vegan)

Peanut Butter Filling Layer:
7 Tbsp unsweetened, all natural creamy or crunchy peanut butter*
dash of pure vanilla extract
2-3 tsp honey (agave, coconut nectar or maple syrup could be subbed) + a pinch of stevia if you wanter a sweeter filling
2 Tbsp peanut flour or almond flour (or more if needed to hold together, depends on how runny your nut butter is)
pinch of sea salt

Chocolate Layer:
2 Tbsp raw cacoa powder, cocoa powder or carob powder
2 Tbsp peanut butter (I used all natural, unsalted crunchy but creamy works too)
2 tsp coconut oil, melted
1 tsp honey, agave, coconut nectar or maple syrup (add a pinch of stevia if you want a sweeter topping)
pinch of sea salt (omit if using salted nut butter)

For garnish, optional
unsalted or salted peanut halves

Directions

1. For crust: Combine all ingredients in a small mixing bowl until well incorporated and mixture sticks together. (I used a fork).

Divide evenly into 11-12 mini silicone cupcakes molds and press evenly to create firm mini crusts. If you do not have a silicone pan, line a mini muffin tin with plastic wrap for easy removal. Set pan aside while you create the filling.

2. For the peanut butter filling:  In the small mixing bowl (you don’t have to rinse the bowl out), add all of the ingredients and stir to combine. If the mixture isn’t holding together and is too runny, add more peanut/coconut flour a little at a time (this will depending on the consistency of your nut butter, I used a fairly thick peanut butter).

Divide evenly onto the crusts and press firmly to form a flat layer, repeat with remaining cups. Freeze the cups for a few minutes while you prepare the chocolate topping (optional but helps harden the topping more quickly).

3. For the chocolate topping: In a small bowl, stir all ingredients together until smooth and uniform. Spoon on top of the filling and garnish with peanut halves if desired. Refrigerate the cups until chocolate layer is hardened and enjoy!

Makes about 12 mini cups (can be doubled or tripled). Store in the refrigerator.

*If you looking for a nut-free option, substitute sunflower seed butter for the peanut butter, and use pulsed sunflower seeds to make a seed meal (or buckwheat flour or even finely shredded coconut) for the peanut flour. You may need to increase the sweetener slightly unless you are using sweetened sunflower seed butter; I find sunflower seed butter to be a bit more bitter than other nut butters but it’s completely up to you!

PS. Get ready! I am dedicating next week to pizza, another one of my all-time favorite foods…
Have an awesome weekend 🙂

17 thoughts on “Bite-Size Peanut Butter Layer Cups (No-Bake, Grain-Free)

  1. I want to make these for my man so he can take them to work as a treat 🙂 although, these probably won’t hold up so well at room temp, will they? thx for the wonderful recipe!

  2. How adorable are these and almost guilt free – nice post Nora!

    …I have a super sweet toothe late at night, these couldn’t be more perfect 🙂

  3. OMG, this looks soooo good! My kind of treat / snack, big time! I am so wanting to make them, and I will probably do that right this week-end, too!

    Say… in the filling ingredients part, what exactly do you mean by “2 tbsp peanut flour or peanut flour”? Does this mean I get to choose between using peanut flour or… peanut flour? 😉 Seriously, what if I don’t have peanut flour and don’t care to use it? Think coconut flour would do the trick? What is the actual alternative that you intended to present us with here?

    Oh, and that last picture with the pile of mini bites and one that is half eaten? DROOOOOOL! I seriously need a paper towel here, or something. Good job, twinsis! 😉

  4. If this is what happens when you’re lazy, I like your style! I guess it was the same thing with me and my cinnamon buns last weekend. I was in the laziest of lazy moods, but found comfort in chilling out in my pj’s and spending hours in the kitchen. Have a fabulous weekend!

  5. I’m the same! I’ve been posting lots of no bake recipes lately and it’s only the beginning of May. Whoops! I guess I need to bake some more before it gets really hot but it’s hard with no AC.

    These look delicious! I don’t think I’ve ever had nut butters but I’m sure these are better. 🙂

  6. Have them in Fridge at this very moment – it is not fair that there are only 12. Although, if they were just for me that would be fine, but sure would love to share 🙂
    Thank you Nora – looking forward to pizza next week

  7. Hello. I just found your blog, and love it. I’m looking forward to more of your wonderful looking recipes, and your pizza feature!!!! Have a great weekend.

  8. Too cute (and YUM) – do you reckon coconut flour would work in place of the peanut flour in the filling? Never seen peanut flour Down Under!

  9. Pingback: Pizza Quinoa Casserole | The Spiffy Cookie

  10. Pingback: Teeny Weeny Healthy Chocolate, Ginger and Almond Butter Layered Cups | The Healthy Foodie

Leave a comment