Spiced Buckwheat Pudding with Pistachios and Currants

I’ve added buckwheat groats to baked goods before and I’ve ground them into a flour but I’d never cooked the whole kernels until yesterday. Why had I waited so long to do so? I am still asking myself that question…

Cooked buckwheat is creamy, hearty and SO delicious…in fact, buckwheat just might be my new favorite ingredient. Uh oh — Move over oats, buckwheat is now riding shotgun!

I’d been meaning to experiment with cooking whole buckwheat for a while now and I had too many ideas in my head. While I wanted to make two dishes — one sweet and one savory — I only had 3/4 cup of raw groats left in the pantry. Let’s just say my sweet tooth won the battle 🙂

Lightly spiced with cardamon and cinnamon and with a light, earthy sweetness from the coconut sugar, this “pudding” is a filling breakfast or snack and might even pass as a light dessert. The salted pistachios and currants add a lovely texture and flavor that compliment the spices nicely as well. If rice pudding and oatmeal had a baby, I think buckwheat pudding just might be the result…we’ll see, the verdict is still out on that one 🙂

Spiced Buckwheat Pudding with Pistachios and Currants

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups water
3/4 cup raw buckwheat groats
pinch of salt
2-4 Tbsp coconut sugar – I used 2 Tbsp (stevia, honey, agave or even maple syrup could be used**)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 to 1/4 tsp ground cardamom
1/4 to 1/2  tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 cup currants (I used zante, but raisins, cranberries, or cherries would be yummy)
1/3 cup shelled pistachios* (I used roasted and salted)
1-3 Tbsp almond milk or other non-dairy milk**
1-2 scoops of vanilla protein powder, optional but may need a bit more sweetener if omitted

pistachios and currants for garnish, optional

Directions

1. In a medium saucepan, combine water, buckwheat, salt, sweetener, spices and vanilla and stir. Bring to a boil then cover and reduce heat and let simmer for 15-20 minutes (depending on the texture and amount of chew you prefer, I cooked mine for 16 minutes).
2. Remove from heat and stir in the currants, pistachios, and almond milk. Let cool slightly and stir in the protein powder if using OR sweeten with additional honey, agave, or coconut sugar to taste. Serve immediately or chill for a hour or overnight and enjoy!

Makes about 3 cups (serves 2-4)

Recipe notes: I enjoyed this dish warmed as well as cold…if I had to choose I might like this chilled a teeny-tiny bit more because it reminded me more of a dessert similar to rice pudding. The warmed version was more like a breakfast oatmeal 🙂

*I used salted pistachios so if you are using unsalted, feel free to add more salt when cooking the buckwheat to enhance the flavors if desired.
**If using a liquid sweetener, you might need to decrease or omit the milk if you want a stiffer pudding, it’s up to you. If vegan, use any sweetener listed except for honey.

22 thoughts on “Spiced Buckwheat Pudding with Pistachios and Currants

  1. THIS LOOKS GOOOOOOOOOD! I want some right now! Again, we are on the same wavelenght. I’ve been loving on buckwheat like crazy the past few weeks, but this looks better than anything I’ve had.

    I need to make it this week end. Looks sooooo creamy and ooey and gooey. Gorgeous!

    • It’s some seriously awesome stuff! Mmmmm buckwheat is officially my favorite! I tried it today cooked with water, a drizzle of olive oil, garlic and a pinch of salt…after cooking I stirred in some chopped walnuts and gobbled it up like a pilaf! I can’t wait to do more experimenting!

    • Bold but SO true! I can’t get buckwheat out of my head since I made this…the first thing on my grocery list is “BUCKWHEAT”…yes it’s in all caps, no messing around here 🙂

  2. This looks delicious! I’ve just recently begun experimenting with using light buckwheat flour in baking but haven’t yet tried cooking whole groats. Where do you purchase your groats?

  3. The only kind of buckwheat I’ve used so far is flour and I liked the nutty sort of taste it had. So I can imagine this dessert would be even tastier than plain rice pudding, especially with the spices and nuts that you added! And I love that you can either eat it warm for breakfast or cold for dessert!

  4. Pingback: No-Oat Granola Bars aka “Birdfood Bites” « Natural Noshing

  5. Pingback: Creamy Dreamy Spicy [Breakfast] Buckwheat Pudding | The Healthy Foodie

  6. Pingback: No tricks, just a treat ;-]! « Ealj's Blog

Leave a comment