Java Chip Smoothie

Today is a special day – it’s my mom’s birthday! So I want to give a big birthday shout out to my fabulous mother – not only is she my biggest fan, she is one of my best friends and she deserves an amazing day! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM, I love you!

I thought I’d post a recipe today that with flavors my mom enjoys…coffee and chocolate! I’ve never been one to consume much caffeine or coffee on a regular basis but I do enjoy mocha and coffee flavored drinks and desserts. When opting for a hot drink, I would much rather have a cup of tea as opposed to coffee but I’ve also come to appreciate a little caffeine boost during the start of our new yogurt store 🙂

Here’s a mocha-inspired protein smoothie that is a delicious snack, after-workout drink or on-the-go breakfast!

Java Chip Smoothie 

Ingredients

1 cup non-dairy milk (almond, rice, coconut, soy, hemp)
2-3 dashes of ground cinnamon
1 scoop of protein powder (use soy,rice or hemp for vegan)
1-2 medjool dates
1 Tbsp raw cacao powder (regular cocoa powder could be subbed)
2 tsp instant coffee granules (regular or decaf)
4-5 ice cubes
1 tsp cacao nibs or chocolate chips for serving

Directions

1. Add non-daory milk through ice cubes to a blender and combine until smooth, about 1 minute. Pour into a glass and sprinkle with cacao bins (or chocolate chips) and enjoy!

19 thoughts on “Java Chip Smoothie

  1. Happy birthday to your mom! 😀
    Your smoothie looks so good – I’ve been craving anything coffee flavored lately but I’ve been resisting going out for a good coffee since I hardly ever make coffee at home. This looks like something I would enjoy way more than an overpriced coffee 😀

  2. This smoothie sounds delicious! I think it would also be very good with some peanut butter or PB2 powder mixed in! Definitely going to try this! Thanks for the recipe.

  3. Happy Birthday, Nora’s Mommy! I think it is fair to say that YOU are her best b-day present 🙂 I’m not a big fan of shakes/smoothies but this, THIS is something I could guzzle down in seconds…

  4. Ooooh… I love the idea of adding instant coffee powder to a smoothie! Not something that I would do regularly, for I don’t think that it’s the healthiest of options, but still… the flavor that must come from it. HAS to be amazing. I have to give this one a try! Thanks for the idea, and happy belated birthday to your mom! 🙂

    • It is very yummy! You’re probably right in that it’s not the best option (I’ll have to look into it!) but I don’t drink coffee so I didn’t have actual coffee to use in this 🙂 I had some granulated coffee lying around for some reason..probably to bring out the chocolate flavor in some baked goods from a while ago, who knows what you will find in my crazy pantry!

  5. Pingback: SAMMIE KENNEDY | Empowering Women To Live Healthy » Blog Archive » Double Duty

  6. Pingback: Sunday Swarm: 40+ Sensational Smoothies to Sip On | Smart Girls Lift

  7. Pingback: 40+ Sensational Smoothies to Sip On - Smart Girls Lift

Leave a comment