Mediterranean Scramble with Goat Cheese

I want all things goat cheese this week. It must be my new favorite ingredient since I go through these type of phases.

Goat cheese on eggs, crackers, sandwiches, pasta, sauteed vegetables and chicken – it all sounds appealing and deeeelish!

It’s been awhile since I posted an egg recipe so I am back again with an easy breakfast scramble! Creamy goat cheese, fresh tomatoes, mushrooms and spinach combine for a veggie-packed breakfast that is both satisfying and filling. I served this scramble with leftover refried beans topped with crumbled goat cheese; I know it doesn’t match the cuisine but adding fiber-packed ingredients to my meals helps keep me full longer.

Mediterranean Scramble with Goat Cheese

Ingredients

4 eggs, whisked
2 tsp coconut oil (butter, ghee or other oil could be used)
4-5 button mushrooms, sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 tsp Italian seasoning
1 Roma tomato, diced
3 cups of fresh baby spinach
2-3 Tbsp goat cheese, crumbled
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. In a large skillet, heat oil or butter in a medium skillet. Add mushrooms and saute for 2 minutes. Toss in garlic and seasoning and saute for 30 seconds or until fragrant.
2. Add spinach and tomato and stir for 30 seconds then move putting veggies to the side of the pan. Add whisked eggs to the other side of the skillet and let cook for a few minutes, stirring occasionally until cooked through. Stir veggies and eggs together and season with salt and pepper.
3. Top with crumbled goat cheese and serve immediately. Enjoy!

Serves 2 (can be cut in half for a single serving)

Leave a comment