Butternut Squash Skillet Hash

I’ve had a butternut squash sitting on my counter for about a month now. I actually forgot it was there since I’ve walked past it so many times that it’s become part of the kitchen decor.

Instead of letting it sit there “looking pretty”, I decided to make two dishes: the first being a vegetarian skillet hash and the other was a soup  substituting butternut for the squash in my spicy kabocha coconut soup recipe !

This hash combines butternut squash with sweet raisins, sauteed mushrooms and creamy tangy goat cheese for a simple but flavor-packed vegetarian meal. I have noted substitutions for a vegan dish and other ingredients for different flavor variations – this is one of those flexible meals so use what you like!

Butternut Squash Skillet Hash

Ingredients

4 cups butternut squash cut in small cubes (1/2 in) or 3 1/2 cups shredded butternut squash (sweet potatoes would also be delicious)
1 1/2 Tbsp coconut oil, olive oil, butter, ghee or Earth Balance (use oil or Earth Balance for vegan)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp onion powder (I was out of onion and had to use a back-up – could sub 1/2 cup diced onion and add while cooking the squash)
dash of crushed red pepper (omit if you don’t like heat)
2 cups sliced mushrooms (I bet red bell pepper would be good too if mushrooms aren’t your favorite)
1/4 cup raisins (cranberries or golden raisins could be subbed)
2 handfuls of baby greens, optional but a variety of color (I used baby spinach, about 2 cups)
3-4 Tbsp goat cheese (or feta) (could use nutritional yeast for vegan for different flavor)
3 Tbsp chopped nuts or seeds (I forgot to add before taking photos, optional but good – I used a combo of walnuts and hemp seeds)
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. In a large skillet, heat oil/butter over medium heat. Add squash and season with salt and pepper. Saute for about 9-10 minutes until softened and cooked through, stirring occasionally.
2. Add garlic, onion powder, red pepper and mushrooms and saute for another 2-3 minutes until mushrooms are cooked. Toss in the raisins and greens and cook until greens are wilted, a minute or so.
3. Remove from heat, season with salt and pepper if needed and toss with cheese and nuts/seeds.  Serve while warm and enjoy!

Serves 2 as a meal, 4 as a side dish (or one really hungry person)

13 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Skillet Hash

    • Thanks Heidi! everything is better with cheese on it and it pairs well with the butternut squash…I have developed an adoration for goat cheese, so creamy and doesn’t upset my tummy like regular dairy cheese does! Funny how I still eat regular cheese though…I just can’t help it, so good!

  1. Oh goats cheese is one of the things I REALLY miss being a vegan… so salty, creamy and delicious! This looks fantastic… love the addition of raisins 🙂

    • Thanks Lou! I am not sure I could do without goat cheese…it’s just so creamy and salty and delicious like you said! They need to come out with a vegan version for you though that might satisfy the craving! Raisins add a nice subtle sweetness that pairs well with the tang of the cheese!

  2. WOW, I think I’m way behind again on my blog reading. This looks amazing, and is right in line with the way I’m eating now. LOVE the addition of raisins, nuts and goat cheese. I am so making this right THIS week!

    Can’t wait!

    You know what else I can’t wait for? An update on the froyo business! I really hope things are going well!!! (And I still wish I could just drop by for a bowl or five…)

  3. Pingback: Sweet Potatoes and Brussel Sprouts Skillet Hash | The Healthy Foodie

  4. I have a butternut squash sitting on my counter too. I have never made anything with one before and this sounds amazing. I have a silly question, do you peel the skin and then cut it up? Thanks

    • Hi Stephanie! I think it’s easiest to peel the skin first 🙂 If you cut off the top and bottom of the squash so it sits flats, that really helps, and you can cut the “neck” of the squash off the rounder bulb part (that has the seeds) and that also helps too! I hope this helps and that you enjoy this as much as I did! 🙂

Leave a comment