Crustless Pumpkin Pudding Pie in a Jar

Are you sick of pumpkin yet? I’m not 🙂 I am still thoroughly enjoying my fair share so I am hopeful you haven’t given up on eating winter squash this season!

While I intended to make a more traditional pumpkin pie (with crust) this Fall, when my craving hit I opted for a quicker version. Quick usually means sans the crust…but it is still every bit as delicious! For me, the filling is the star anyway. Warm spices, pumpkin puree and naturally sweetened, this dessert (or breakfast or snack) is healthy AND satisfying.

I am fond of baking in individual jars, as seen from my greek yogurt cheesecake recipe! These puddings would make a great dessert for a party or a crowd so you don’t have to cut and serve portions…which also saves time and a few less dishes to clean 🙂

If you aren’t a fan of crust on pie, this recipe is for you! However, if you prefer a well baked crust, this recipe would be delicious with crumbled crust or crushed cookies (gingersnap or graham crackers would rock!) for garnish and serving. For some crunch, try adding your favorite granola for texture.

Crustless Pumpkin Pudding Pie in a Jar 

Ingredients

2 cups of cooked pumpkin or winter squash puree (or 1 15oz can)
1/2 cup non-dairy milk OR for a different flavor use 1/4 cup orange juice or carrot juice AND 1/4 cup milk
1 egg (or you might be able to use an egg replacer but I haven’t tried this)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup sweetener (I used 3 Tbsp coconut sugar + 1 Tbsp honey) or increase up to 1/3 cup for sweeter*
1/4 cup gluten-free flour of choice (I used oat flour)
2 tsp ground cinnamon (more or less to taste)
1 tsp ground ginger (more or less to taste)
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp cloves
pinch of nutmeg and allspice

1 tsp of coconut oil or butter for oiling jars

Optional for serving
coconut butter
whipped cream (dairy or non-dairy)
toasted pepitas and chopped pecans (or almonds or walnuts)
crushed gingersnaps, graham crackers or cookies
granola

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F . Grease four 1/2 pint glass jars (or one large loaf pan) with coconut oil or butter and set aside.
2. In a blender or using a hand mixer, combine all wet ingredients (pumpkin through sweetener) and mix to combine well. Add remaining ingredients (flour through spices) and blend again until well incorporated.
3. Divide batter amongst the four jars (or pour into one large loaf pan) and bake for 37-40 minutes or until the top is lightly browned and starts to crack. Remove from oven, let cool slightly and top with coconut butter and/or whipped cream and toasted nuts and seeds and enjoy OR let cool and refrigerate then garnish and enjoy!

Can be served warm, at room temperature or chilled.

*If you use all liquid sweetener like honey, agave or maple syrup, reduce the milk by 1 Tbsp and bake at 325F.

A yummy bite of pumpkin pudding!

26 thoughts on “Crustless Pumpkin Pudding Pie in a Jar

  1. This sounds so good, Nora! (minus the pecans, I’m allergic–which is truly a shame…) I love the idea of baking it in the jar but if I were to do it, I would *have to* make crust on the side. I’m a sucker for crust! It’s my demise… 🙂

  2. You mean you cook those directly in the Mason jars? I would never have thought of cooking anything in a mason jar. That is a brilliant idea! I love it. And that recipe looks fabulous. I haven’t had anything pumpkin in far too long now, I am way overdue. I think this one will be going on my list of “must try very soon”. Gee, I wish I had time to make them today! Sadly, life is getting in the way of food, and there will be no time to cook today. Oh, I am so craving this now. Unfair!

    • Oh yes my friend!!!! Baked directly in jars – it’s lovely and SO easy for serving! 🙂 You have been working the winter squash scene lately! Your drool-worthy pumpkin pie was so beautiful, a different recipe with pumpkin might feel inferior to your pie haha 🙂
      Aren’t photos so inticing? I can’t help but get cravings when I read food blogs with photos – even after I just ate a meal or snack, ahhh! My mind takes over my tummy, hehe!

  3. Pingback: Fall Seasonings and Creamy Spiced Pumpkin Dip « Natural Noshing

  4. Pingback: Super Easy Individual Crustless Pumpkin Pie « Beautiful Disasters

  5. Pingback: Kabocha Squash Lovin’ « Natural Noshing

  6. Pingback: Top 10 Delicious Pumpkin Desserts

  7. Pingback: Dessert in a Jar - Easy and Fun - MotivaNova

  8. Pingback: Delicious Thanksgiving Pumpkin Desserts | Favorite Food Recipes

  9. Pingback: #FridayRoundUP: 40+ Perfect Pumpkin Recipes! | With a Side of ThriftinessWith a Side of Thriftiness

  10. Pingback: #FallRoundUP: 40+ Perfect Pumpkin Recipes! | Pin-n-Tell

  11. Pingback: 12 Coach-picked Healthy Thanksgiving Recipes - Yes Health

Leave a comment