Road Trip and Protein Nut Butter Balls

I hope everyone is having a super weekend so far! Right now, Chris and I are taking a road trip up to Montana for a long weekend so I have a quick post for you today…I couldn’t stay away from you all for five days!

Since we are traveling via car and don’t have to go through the strict regulations of air travel, I can easily bring my favorite snacks and ingredients along with me:

I used to make a smoothie every morning with protein powder but I’ve laid off the stuff in lieu of real food while I am eating at home (such as overnight oats, scrambled eggs with spinach, Neely Egg McMuffin/egg sandwichhigh protein pancakes or baked egg cups . I love protein shakes and protein powder but reserve them for occasions when I am on-the-go or traveling 🙂
Here’s a simple snack that can be thrown together quickly for a high-protein bite that is adaptable to your liking. I think it tastes best with peanut butter but sunflower butter, cashew butter, almond butter or other nut butter would work too. If using alternative to peanut butter, you may need to incorporate add-ins so the flavors aren’t as bland. I love this little guys frozen…they pretty much taste like healthy cookie dough.

You can make smaller batches if you’d like, just half or quarter the recipe 🙂

Protein Nut Butter Balls

Ingredients

1 cup crunchy or creamy unsalted/unsweetened peanut butter (or other nut butter or a combo)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract, optional
3-4 Tbsp honey or agave or maple syrup
5 scoops vanilla protein powder (I use Jay Robb’s whey)
1 – 3 Tbsp golden flaxseed, ground (or sub with oat flour) – could use brown flax but will be darker in color
couple shakes of cinnamon, optional
a pinch of sea salt

Optional Add-in Ideas:

raisins or currents
goji berries
dried cranberries
dried cherries
rolled oats
chopped nuts
shredded coconut or coconut flakes
candied ginger
chocolate or carob chips
cacao nibs
sesame seeds
sunflower seeds
other sweet spices (cloves, ginger, allspice)

Directions

1. In a medium bowl, add nut butter, vanilla and sweetener. Stir to combine.
2. Add in protein powder, ground flax, cinnamon (if using) and a pinch of salt. Stir well until all ingredients are combined.
3. Add any additional ingredients if desired (see add-in ideas above) – optional
4. Roll into balls with your hands, and refrigerate or freeze to harden (or eat right from the bowl) and enjoy!
Makes about 16 – 18 balls

*If the mixture is too dry, add more honey/agave/maple syrup. If the mixture is too wet, add more protein powder and/or ground flax or oat flour.

9 thoughts on “Road Trip and Protein Nut Butter Balls

  1. So you’re on a road trip to Montana! Lucky you! I would so love to go there. It looks absolutely gorgeous with all the mountains everywhere. I hope we get to see pictures!

    As for your little protein balls, I’m not sure I want to try them… I get the feeling that they too, may cause a serious addiction in me.

    So I will try and walk away from here and pretend that I never saw them and forget that I can even roll nut butter into these adorable little protein loaded bites. I’m going now… gooooiiiinng…

    Yeah right… who am I kidding. I know I’ll be back! 😉

    • I think you would love Montana Sonia! I’ll have to share some photos soon. I actually didn’t take too many this trip but I’ll have to share the few I did take!
      These little balls of goodness are quite addicting…a little TOO addicting! They were supposed to last me the whole trip…hmm, that didn’t work out so well 🙂

  2. Pingback: Grain-Free, Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pancakes and a Trip Recap « Natural Noshing

  3. Pingback: 7 Ingredients for a Healthy Holiday Season « Natural Noshing

  4. Pingback: Speedy Sweets N’ Snacks « Natural Noshing

Leave a comment