Easy Baked Tofu

A year ago, I wouldn’t touch tofu with a ten twenty-foot pole. My palate has changed quite a bit in the past several years and foods I didn’t care for such as red bell pepper, pecans, tofu and avocado are now some of my all-time favorites. I’m not sure what exactly turned me on to tofu but the hot bar at Whole Foods certainly helped me along 🙂 When I topped my random lunch container off with cubes of baked tofu awhile back, I couldn’t stop eating it…ok, where had tofu been all my life?!?

If you know how to cook it properly, tofu definitely tastes delicious! Before, I’d always thought it was a bland, strange meat replacement but I actually crave tofu these days…and I have to limit myself as I keep reading that too much soy (or anything in excessive for that matter) is never a good thing. Plus, it’s an easy and inexpensive meat-free option when I feel like a light meal or a protein-filled snack.

Give this recipe a try, it’s good serve both hot and cold! I love it when dishes are good out of the oven and straight from the fridge. The marinade bakes into the tofu so it’s not a saucy dish. Add cubes to stir-fried veggies and serve over rice, toss on a salad, as a sandwich filling, with cooked quinoa, in a rice paper wrapper or just pop them in your mouth like you would bites of chicken or cheese 🙂

Confession: you know I love tofu when I can’t stop eating it straight off from the pan, and before I get to snap photos…

Easy Baked Tofu (adapted from Allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

1 16 oz package organic, non-GMO extra firm tofu
3 Tbsp gluten free low sodium soy sauce, tamari or Bragg’s liquid aminos
2 Tbsp honey (agave or maple syrup can be subbed for vegan)
1 Tbsp rice wine vinegar
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp garlic powder
couple dashes of cayenne pepper or crushed red pepper

olive oil spray
chopped green onions/scallions for serving

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly spray a non-stick baking sheet with oil or use a silicone mat.
2. Slice tofu into 1/2-inch slices, and gently press excess water out of tofu (use tofu press or place between paper towels and put heavy weight on top for 10 minutes). Cut sliced tofu into 1/2-inch cubes.
3. In a bowl, stir together the soy sauce, honey, vinegar and oil. Stir in ginger, garlic powder and red pepper. Gently stir tofu cubes into sauce. Cover, and marinate at least 5 minutes.
4. Place the tofu on the baking sheet in a single layer. Spray tops with olive oil (I use the Misto) and bake in a preheated oven for 20 minutes. Turn tofu, and bake until the tofu turns golden brown, about 20 minutes more or until develops a nice crisp crust. Enjoy!

37 thoughts on “Easy Baked Tofu

  1. Wow, your photo on Foodgawker actually made me think, I want some tofu! It’s been a long time since I’ve made some, and I like it pan seared. Thanks for the motivation!

  2. Pingback: tofu bake - DIET AND EXERCISES – DIET AND EXERCISES

  3. just made this…. came out so delicious. poured the extra marinade in the tray too and it thickened up and carmelized a bit. super yummy!

  4. Pingback: Orange Marmalade Baked Tofu | The Food ReFashionista

  5. Pingback: Orange Marmalade Baked Tofu | The Food ReFashionista

  6. Pingback: Fall Seasonings and Creamy Spiced Pumpkin Dip « Natural Noshing

  7. Pingback: Ginger-Garlic Baby Bok Choy « Natural Noshing

  8. OK, why had I never seen this post before? This looks SOOOO good! I am so making this TONIGHT. No, wait… darn, I’m all out of sesame oil. I need to go get some. Well, I’m so making this tomorrow night, then! And you say I can also eat this cold? Whoa. Now I really can’t wait to taste it, and if really it’s super good cold, I get the feeling that this will become my new go-to lunch item for a while.

    And I am so with you on not being able to stop eating tofu straight from the pan. Sometimes, I get like that BEFORE it even hits the pan. ;o)

    • I make this all the time — I think you will like it 🙂 or I hope so at least! I am curious to hear what you think. You know, that’s a great idea – make a large batch and keep it in the fridge for lunch for the week! love it cold, love it warm – either is yummy to me 🙂 Seems like I’d have to make a HUGE batch though because I cant help but grab it off the pan (I see we are twins again!)

      • OMG! This is in the oven as I type… not even done baking yet and already, I’m addicted. I had at least 4-5 pieces raw, before it even had a chance to hit the oven (and get this, my son looked at it and went “what’s this, can I taste?” and I told him it was tofu, yet he had a piece and immediately went “hmmmmm” and grabbed a second one!!!! Can you believe this?) then when I had to flip them over, of course, I had to taste, so I must’ve had another 4-5 pieces there… This is YUUUUUMMMMERS! Unreal

        I definitely should’ve doubled or even tripled the recipe.

        This is just soooooo good. And I kept the marinade too! Gonna use it as a dipping sauce!

        Off to grab another piece… 😉

      • Yay! I am SO happy you like this tofu as much as I do! 🙂 It’s kind of addicting…I cant ever help myself from sneaking cubes prior to baking and then of course when it’s hot off the pan! Wow, if your son likes it then I am impressed – that’s the ultimate compliment in my book! Using the marinade as a dipping sauce is a great idea! Did you have any left over to try it cold? Usually mine doesn’t make it that long unless I make a larger batch 🙂

  9. Pingback: Easy Baked Tofu | The Healthy Foodie

  10. Hi there!

    Found your blog through Sonia @ The Healthy Foodie. She had posted this recipe last night and I made it pretty much first thing this morning. This stuff is AWESOME!! Thanks so much for sharing it 🙂

  11. Wow this recipe sounds great…I shall make this week …my only worry is the tofu press…not sure if you can get such a thing in Australia…however I will try as it sounds an easier way to do things….have just found your blog…lovin it so far…many thanks!

    • Hi Keri-Anne! If you don’t have a tofu press, don’t worry at all, you can always make your own version at home like I do. I lay some paper towels down underneath as well as on top of the tofu, along with something semi-heavy and flat (like a skillet pan) and let the weight of the pan press the water out of the tofu 🙂 Happy cooking!

  12. Pingback: Post 20 – Sesame Tofu Noodles | Erin Eating Everything

  13. Pingback: Easy Garlic Swiss Chard Recipe – Mother Earth News | sparksc01

  14. Pingback: Baked Tofu Stir Fry | Cooking Whims

  15. Pingback: 11 Healthy “Hippie” Ingredients Everyone Should Cook With | AVAC Life

  16. Pingback: Healthy and Flavorful Tofu Recipes | For Women

  17. Just tried last night. Husband and I loved it. Even better the next day. Tastes great cold. Very easy. Press tofu overnight and make marinade. Next morning put sliced tofu in marinade. Then place in oven after work for tasty, easy dinner.

  18. SOOOOOO GOOD! I through this into a Thai soup from vegetarian times (it was the Red curry vegetable soup) it was a hit! My mom kept snacking on the tofu as I was making the soup because it’s just super addictive. Definitely making this again!! #staplefood

  19. Pingback: Ingredients Everyone Should Cook With + Recipes | ecogreenlove

  20. Had to adjust the baking time a little for my oven. About 17 minutes on 1st side and around 8-10 on the other side after flipping.
    Turned out delish!

  21. Pingback: 11 Healthy "Hippie" Ingredients Everyone Should Cook With - My great Wordpress blog

  22. Pingback: 11 Healthy "Hippie" Ingredients Everyone Should Cook With - Power Up Your Health : Power Up Your Health

  23. Pingback: my food obsession - style dementia

  24. Pingback: 11 Healthy “Hippie” Ingredients Everyone Should Cook With | ViralExtra.com

Leave a comment