Cinnamon-Apple Breakfast Bake

Breakfast is said to be the most important meal of the day – and I am firm believer in that, I can’t go without my breakfast!

If you haven’t heard it enough, here are ten more reasons to “break your fast” with a morning meal:

10. Breakfast helps to make you more alert and mentally prepared for your day.
9. If you don’t make something at home, breakfast is usually the most inexpensive meal to order in a restaurant.
8. It’s a good time to check in with your family/friends for a few minutes first thing in the morning.
7. Breakfast jump starts your metabolism and gets the calorie-burning mechanism up and running as soon as you are.
6. Early morning sunlight is nice to eat by.
5. Eating breakfast makes it less likely that you’ll get too hungry and binge on high-calorie snacks.
4. It’s a nice time to get centered before starting a busy day.
3. There’s coffee (or tea in my case!).
2. It helps you keep the weight off: The most successful weight-loss maintainers eat breakfast regularly, according to the National Weight Control Registry.

And the #1 reason to love breakfast is: You get to enjoy yummy breakfast bakes like my cinnamon-apple version with oatmeal and toasted buckwheat groats! Or if you prefer a savory breakfast, try my open-faced egg sandwich, homemade healthy breakfast sausage or italian-style baked egg cups.

I’ve been loving breakfast bakes these days – both savory and sweet (savory version coming soon!). This hearty and healthy recipe was inspired by Ashley’s Buckwheat Bake at the Edible Perspective, and has a bit more of a cake or muffin texture from the ground oats than my quick banana bread quinoa flake bake.

I cooked my brekkie bake in the toaster oven but you could probably microwave it for 1 minute or so if you are short on time – however, be careful not to overcook or it will turn into a dry brick!

Cinnamon-Apple Breakfast Bake

Ingredients

1/4 cup ground gluten free oats/oat flour (or could sub buckwheat flour, millet flour or teff flour)
1 Tbsp toasted buckwheat groats (or raw – could also sub millet or rolled oats)
1/2 T ground flaxseed
1/2 – 1 tsp ground cinnamon
1Tbsp chia seeds
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch of sea salt
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 – 2 tsp honey (agave for vegan, maple syrup or  could use stevia to taste)
1/4 cup applesauce (or sub pumpkin/squash puree but will be slightly less sweet or 1/2 large mashed banana)
1 egg, whisked (or 1 flax egg for vegan – 1T ground flax meal + 2.5T warm water, whisked)
3 Tbsp almond or coconut milk (from carton, not can)

For Cinnamon-Apple Topping

1/2 small apple, chopped (I left skin on and used a Fuji)
1/2 tsp coconut oil or butter
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp honey, maple syrup, agave or other sweetener, optional for sweeter topping
pinch of sea salt
dash of cloves and/or nutmeg, optional
dash of lemon juice

For serving

1/2  – 1 Tbsp peanut butter or almond butter
1-2 tsp coconut butter or unsweetened coconut flakes

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350* and grease a small oven-safe bowl or ramekin with coconut oil (or butter). I used a 4 inch ramekin but have cooked one in a 6 inch bowl and reduced cooking time by 5 minutes.
2. To prepare the bake, combine dry ingredients (oat flour through salt) in a small bowl. In a separate bowl, add wet ingredients (vanilla through milk) and mix to combine. Add wet to dry ingredients and stir until moistened and incorporated.
3. Add batter to the greased bowl/ramekin and bake for 26-32 minutes (mine cooked for 27) or until bake pulls away from the sides.
4.  Meanwhile, prepare the cinnamon-apple topping (I started cooking the topping when the bake had about 15 minutes left). Heat the coconut oil in a small skillet over medium heat, then add apples and saute for 5 minutes or until softened. Add the sweetener, cinnamon, cloves and/or nutmeg and salt and cook for another 5 -7 minutes or until tender. Stir in lemon juice and keep warm.
5. When bake is done, you can either serve in the ramekin/bowl or let sit for a minute or two them turn out onto a plate. Top with nut butter, cinnamon apples and coconut butter or coconut flakes and enjoy!

Variations – feel free to add chopped apple to the bake batter, chopped nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts or peanuts would all be delicious) or coconut flakes.

*For different flavor combos, try adding different chopped fruit (either dried or fresh – strawberries, cherries, pineapple, blueberries, pears etc), chocolate/carob chips or cocoa powder and mix up the spices and types of flour to your liking.

Sonia at The Healthy Foodie has an Instant Chocolate-Cherry Buckwheat Bake that looks and tastes like chocolate cake for breakfast! The vanilla custard topping is amazing, I’ve made it several times and love it! 🙂

This recipe is featured at Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays at Amy’s Simply Sugar and Gluten Free blog this week!

25 thoughts on “Cinnamon-Apple Breakfast Bake

  1. OMG this looks good! I’m in a “not hungry at all” mood today, which makes it very hard for me to make my weekly meal plan, but trust me, this is definetely going on my list, possibly even for tonight. I think I’ll try an instant version of your gorgeous bake.

    Oh, I would have that for lunch, as in, right this instant if I could. Nora, you managed to make me hungry! Thank you! 😀

    • Aww thanks Sonia! I am happy to help pull you out of your “not hungry at all mood”! Glad that this apple bake was the trigger for you 🙂

      Btw- I am craving your chocolate cherry buckwheat bake right now – I made an instant version last night for dessert with oat flour instead (but in an ugly bowl and I didn’t take a photo) and it was SOOOO fabulous! I need to make another, photograph it and write up a post 🙂

      • I so can’t wait to see your version of my chocolate instant bake, and to show you my version of your apple cinnamon! Oh my was I hungry for that one tonight! It was… I can’t even find the words. It was heaven by the spoonful!

        Thank you so much for inspiring me tonight… and, well, this week for that matter. I’ve decided to switch things around for the week and to make this whole week a breakfast at night theme. BTW, your cantaloupe soup is also on the menu!

        You have no idea just how happy I am to have found your blog. Thank you, Nora!

        You rule, girl!! 😀

      • Big hugs to you Sonia! I can’t wait to see your cinn-apple version! AND I am so looking forward to your week of “breakfast for dinner” – Love it!!!
        I am incredibly grateful for you and your blog as well – you continue to inspire me too! 🙂

  2. These look fabulous – can’t wait to give them a try! Wow, I haven’t used a toaster oven since we illegally hid one in our dorm room in college, lol. Couldn’t live without freshly toasted bagels! Might have to think about getting another one 🙂

  3. mmmmmhh breakfast. The problem with me is just that I am not a morning person AT ALL. I am more of a STOP TALKING TO ME WHY ARE YOU STILL TALKING TO ME STOP IT kind of person for at least one hour and a half after getting up. only THEN am I even able to put anything into my mouth except coffee and a toothbrush.

    rarely at the same time, though.

    Still, this looks like a lovely “late morning meal” to me 😉

    Tobias

    • Thanks Tobias! Everyone has their way of waking up in the morning – at least you know where you stand : ) You could definitely make this as a snack or “when I finally wake up” meal!

  4. Pingback: High Protein – Whole Grain Date and Walnut Bread… and when dinner becomes breakfast | The Healthy Foodie

  5. Pingback: Apple Pecan Instant Buckwheat Bake | The Healthy Foodie

  6. Pingback: A Savory Breakfast Bake x2 « Natural Noshing

  7. Pingback: Sweet and Savory Butter Madness! « Natural Noshing

  8. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes for 2011 and Happy New Year! « Natural Noshing

  9. Pingback: Quinoa Sweet Potato Breakfast Casserole Recipe: Healthy Diet — Family Fresh Cooking

  10. Pingback: Family Breakfast Ideas 3/17 | Xtreme Couponing With Dee Dee

  11. Pingback: Breakfast Recipes 4/28 | Xtreme Couponing With Dee Dee

  12. Pingback: Family Breakfast Recipes 9/22 | Xtreme Couponing With Dee Dee

  13. Pingback: Marla Meridith | Quinoa Sweet Potato Breakfast Bake

Leave a comment