Quick Raw Corn Chowder

To me, corn screams summer and when sweet corn went on sale this past week, I was all over it! I have been incorporating corn into a variety of dishes, from simply grilling the cobs and slathering them with butter to making a corn salsa or adding them into a sauteed veggie side…I love it all!

My favorite though is this incredibly simple corn and avocado soup I’ve been enjoying during the heat of the day. It takes about 5 minutes total to prep and serve this light dish for lunch and then I have leftovers for the following day or two. The avocado makes for a creamy base and the sea salt and lime really bring out the sweetness of the corn.

You could also serve this soup in smaller portions in a martini glass for a summer appetizer or light start to a meal. I enjoy the rustic texture of the corn but feel free to strain the soup or press through a chinois prior to serving if you would prefer a smoother consistency.

Quick Raw Corn Chowder

Ingredients

3 ears of corn, husked and silk removed
1 avocado , coarsely chopped
3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
juice from 1/2 lime
1 small jalapeno, seeded and deveined, chopped
1 1/2 tsp sea salt (don’t leave out the salt, it makes a huge difference! Decrease if you aren’t a salt fan)
1 2/3 cup cold water

Serving ideas
sour cream and plain yogurt
chopped avocado
chopped jalapeno
chopped cilantro leaves
slice of lime

Directions

1. Place one ear of corn tip-down in the center of a large bowl and hold upright with one hand. With a knife, cut off corn kernels from top to bottom. Repeat with remaining two ears and set aside 1/4 cup corn kernels. Once you have removed all of the kernels, use the knife’s dull edge to scrape the cobs top to bottom on all sides, collecting remaining pulp and “milk” (the remaining juice in the kernels) in the bowl.
2. Transfer kernels, corn “milk” and pulp to a blender. Add remaining ingredients and blend for 1 minute or until well combined. Pour in bowls, garnish with the set-aside corn kernels along with desired toppings (I sprinkle mine with ground pepper, chunks of avocado and a bit of diced jalapeno) and serve immediately, or you can chill until ready to serve. Leftover soup will keep for about two or three days.

This recipe is featured at Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays at Amy’s Simply Sugar and Gluten Free blog this week!

20 thoughts on “Quick Raw Corn Chowder

  1. In the list of ingredients, there’s avocado but not any milk. Then in the directions, you use milk and no avocado! I’m assuming this is an either/or type of recipe, considering they would both serve as a creamy base. It looks truly delicious…I really want to make it! Fresh corn is the best!

    • Sorry for the confusion! The milk is the juice left in the corn cob once you cut off the kernels, or its leftover corn juice 🙂 So you scrape all the goodness from the cob and then basically add the rest of the ingredients to the blender (including the avocado). I am sure you could use milk instead of water for a creamier base but I haven’t tried this, let me know if you do :)Hhope this helps clarify a bit, I revised the instructions to be a little more clear – thank you!!!

  2. This sounds amazing! I can’t wait for corn to go on sale just so I can try this! Mind you, when corn goes on sale here, it means summer is over, so in a way, I’m not looking forward to it. But just like you, I am a huge fan of corn. I love corn so much, I could have it every day when it’s in season, and corn season is way too darn short! Oh, how I wish we could have it year ’round.

    And one more dish for my Must Try List!

    • I could eat it everyday too – so many good uses! Sad that corn for you means the end of summer 😦 I do love fall and all its wonderful flavors! I’ll hold onto summer as long as I can though!

  3. Pingback: ModCloth Blog » Blog Archive » Tweet Summertreats!

  4. Pingback: Quick Raw Corn Chowder | The Healthy Foodie

  5. Pingback: ModCloth Blog » Blog Archive » Today’s Special: Tweet Summertreats!

Leave a comment