Halibut with Summer Saute

Since yesterday was quite busy, I was in a pinch for dinner last night and need something I could quickly pull together. I bought some beautiful halibut fillets that were on sale at Sprouts and couldn’t wait to cook them. I originally had a different, more time-consuming idea in mind but I changed my plans on a whim for a fast meal that was on the table in 20 minutes. I’m usually a big planner, so do I get extra points for being flexible?

Since I didn’t premeditate this dish, it was one of those evenings I wasn’t sure how everything was going to come together…but it turned out to be a delicious summer meal that was very easy and light…meaning I had room for another bowl of mint chocolate chip ice cream for dessert 🙂

Although I used halibut, I think any mild fish such as mahi mahi or tilapia or even grilled chicken would be a good protein accompaniment to the simple “summer saute”.  You could grill the fish – if you refuse to turn on the oven this time of year – or if you choose to use a different fish or protein, just note that the baking time may vary. For example, tilapia fillets are not as thick and would cook in about 9-11 minutes.

Since we eat with our eyes first, I grabbed fresh veggies with a variety of color for a more appealing presentation but you could easily substitute your favorite summer vegetables (yellow squash, any color bell pepper, tomato, etc) for a different twist. I didn’t use too many seasonings to allow the fresh corn, fish and vegetables to really shine yet the hit of citrus from the lime brightens up the flavors, don’t skip this! This recipe made two good-size portions but the ingredients could be doubled or tripled if needed.

Halibut with Summer Saute

Ingredients

For Fish 

2 halibut fillets (about 1 inch thickness)
salt and pepper to taste (I was generous with the seasoning)
1 tsp melted butter or olive oil
Lime slices for serving

For Vegetable Saute

1 tsp butter or coconut oil or olive oil
1 large or 2 small garlic cloves, minced
1/2 small onion, chopped (I used sweet onion)
1 small zucchini, chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
3 mushrooms, chopped
1 ear of sweet corn, cut off the cob
salt and pepper to taste
couple shakes of smoked paprika (love the smoky taste!)
2 tsp fresh lime juice (lemon would probably work here too)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425F. Tear off medium size parchment paper for each fillet. Place fillet in the center of the paper, drizzle with butter or oil and season with salt and pepper. Gather all 4 ends of the paper and fold over once to crimp to make a loose packet or a tent (next time I will take a photo!). In a small baking pan (I used 8×8), place two packets of fish and bake for 15 minutes or until fish is cooked through and flakes easily.
2. When the fish has about 10 minutes left to cook, preheat a medium skillet over medium heat. Add butter/coconut oil/olive oil and let melt. Add onions and garlic and saute 1 minute or until onion starts to become translucent. Add zucchini, bell pepper and mushrooms and saute for another 2 or 3 minutes minutes, stirring occasionally. Add corn kernels, smoked paprika, salt and pepper. Stir and saute another 2 minutes until corn is cooked but still crisp. Remove from heat and drizzle with lime juice for freshness.
3. When fish is cooked through, remove from oven and discard skin before serving. Serve fish over a bed of the summer saute, drizzle with extra lime juice and more salt and pepper to taste (if needed). Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Halibut with Summer Saute

  1. Pingback: 5 Fresh Dishes to Cool Down a Hot Day | Yummly

Leave a comment