Easy Wild Rice Pizza Crust or Flatbread

I’m convinced that pizza is one of the best foods around — depending on what your pizza looks like of course — but you can hit all of the food groups in one slice, how perfect is that? I’m not advocating the cheese-stuffed, ultra-thick crust with extra garlic butter sauce and the triple meat combo + hold the veggies…however, pizza is so versatile and you can easily make it your own that I can’t help but love this delish dish!

My all-time favorite combo is spinach, mushrooms, and onions with grilled chicken and extra tomato sauce – YUM! Trying to find a wholesome gluten-free crust that I can feel good about eating often can be tricky though. I’ll occasionally treat myself to a gluten free pizza at restaurants occasionally but they typically contain a ton of refined white flours (tapicoa, white rice flour, potato starch, etc) and are quite pricey — I ordered one from our local pizzeria the other night with 3 toppings for $32!!!

Therefore, a fall-back, homemade version is a must! I love experimenting with the crust, since the crust plays such a huge part in the whole pizza experience. I’ve made Charity Dasenbrock’s simple quinoa crust several times (and adore it),  variations on socca (chickpea) crusts and other brown rice flour crusts, but I wanted to use up leftover cooked wild rice and thought I’d give it a whirl. I added some flax seed meal but you could probably substitute your favorite flour if you prefer. This crust was crispy and crunchy on the outside with a soft inside, it worked out great!

You could even use this as a flatbread for your favorite dip (hummus or guac, anyone?) or cut it in half and make a hearty sandwich (or maybe even a panini). I’ve made this recipe on multiple occassions with both wild rice and long grain brown rice, and you can make different variations by switching up the spices depending on how you plan to devour eat it.

**Updated 7/1/2011 – For step by step photo instructions on how to make this crust, please click here.

Wild Rice Pizza Crust

Ingredients

1/2 tsp coconut oil, butter, ghee or oil or choice
1 cup cooked long grain wild rice (or brown rice)
2 tsp flax seed meal (you could probably replace with flour of your choice)
1 tsp italian seasoning
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg white (omit or sub a flax egg for vegan version)
1/4 tsp honey or a dash of stevia, optional
1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp water

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 425F. Place small iron cast non-stick skillet (or oven proof frying pan) in oven with coconut oil/butter until melted. Dont let it smoke and burn!
2. Meanwhile, add remaining ingredients to a blender or a food processor. Blend for 20-30 seconds. The rice mixture should have a thick batter consistency. If too thick, add a 1/2 tbsp of water at at time until consistency is reached.
3. Remove hot pan carefully from the oven (be careful not the burn yourself on hot handle!) and add rice batter to the pan and spread evenly. Bake in oven for 13-15 minutes, or until browned on the bottom and slightly crisp. Remove from oven again (using oven mitts with hot pan!) and flip over, then cook for another 13-15 minutes.
4. Remove from oven and add your favorite pizza toppings. Bake for another 5 minutes or so until cheese is melted (if using cheese) or toppings are heated and crust is crispy.
5. Using a spatula, slide crust out of pan, slice and enjoy!

Makes one pizza crust

*I topped this pie with easy homemade tomato sauce (tomato paste with a dash of stevia and a couple tablespoons water and italian seasoning), caramelized onions, wilted spinach, sauteed tomatoes and some mozzarella! Easy as pie : ) Ok, that was a little corny…

Recipe Notes: For a vegan version, omit the egg. I’ve accidentally left out the egg and it stilled turn out (image far bottom)

You can also make an easy flatbread and enjoy plain with a dip or spread (below) or slather with basil pesto and mozzarella cheese (far below).

Simple and plain...or ready for dipping!

This is the eggless version, a happy accident!

34 thoughts on “Easy Wild Rice Pizza Crust or Flatbread

  1. Im sooo excited to try this! I’ve been looking for a healthier gluten free pizza crust recipe for ages! Thank you for sharing!!!!

  2. Um, I cannot wait to make this. I have a container of leftover wild rice in the fridge right now and I was going to make pizza tonight. How often does that happen!? This looks awesome -thanks!

  3. Ok, I’m back with the results… This tasted so good – I loved the flavor with the garlic, wild rice, etc. However, I might have done something wrong because it did not bake into “bread” or stick together at all. 😦 It was totally crumbly when I tried to flip it over in the pan. I still ate the whole thing because it tasted so good, but the texture was not anything like what’s in your picture. Any ideas for me? I want to try it again! 🙂

    • What a bummer! I haven’t had my crust turn out crumbly before, that is interesting! What type of rice did you use – quick cooking, did it have brown rice in it? Did you tweak the recipe at all? Did you use a non-stick pan? My mistake on the first post, I mentioned and iron cast skillet when it should have been a non-stick, eek – I apologize! I was trying to think what could have caused this so I made another pizza this morning and wrote out the instructions step by step with photos so you can see exactly what I did from start to finish. <a href="“>Click here, I want this to work for you! 🙂

  4. Made the crust for dinner last night and it came out great! I used brown rice instead of wild rice and didn’t use any sweetener. My oven may not be the same as yours because I had to cook a little longer for a crispier crust before flipping. I will be making this again!

  5. I picked this recipe cause it seemed like a healthy dish and ended up making it twice this week as I could not believe how fabulous it tasted. What an amazing discovery. Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Wild Rice Flatbread

  7. Pingback: Up for the (7 Links) Challenge « Natural Noshing

  8. Pingback: Ode to Lentils…and a “Bread” Invention « Natural Noshing

  9. Pingback: Caramelized Onion, Butternut and Goat Cheese Pizza with Grain-Free Crust « Natural Noshing

  10. Pingback: Pizza Potatoes over Sauteed Spinach « Natural Noshing

  11. great recipe — just made it with leftover wild rice (and I did use flour and the egg white). I added maybe 3 tsp of cornmeal to the hot pan before adding the rice and I think it added a nice additional crunch. Thank you for such a fantastic recipe!

  12. Pingback: Socca to Me… | Stacey DeWolfe

  13. Pingback: 74 Ways to Make A Healthier Pizza | Greatist

  14. Pingback: 74 Ways to Make A Healthier Pizza | Blog

  15. Pingback: Gluten-Free Products | The Other Big O

  16. Pingback: Easy Wild Rice Pizza Crust/Flatbread - Gluten Free, Can Be Vegan, Vegetarian - FoodSniffr Blog

  17. Can’t wait to try this! Do you think it would be possible to bake it in a cast iron skillet for extra crispness without burning it, instead of a cookie sheet?

  18. Pingback: 29 days of rice – carrot hummus calzones – day 10 | marfigs' munchies

    • I don’t think it would hold together as well but you could try, rice contains more starch so you might need to add some additional (gluten-free if needed) flour since cooked lentils have already absorbed water…otherwise it might be mushy.

  19. Pingback: Sweet Plantain Rolls (Paleo, Vegan) | Natural Noshing

Leave a comment