Flourless Chunky Monkey Chip Cookies

I’ve already confessed my love for peanut butter and chocolate, and from my Banana Buddy Shake, you can tell I am fan of banana and peanut butter together, so why not combine all three in a  yummy cookie? These flourless cookies are SO delicious and so easy to put together – whether you are gluten free or not, these are a crowd pleaser! Although Chris enjoys his gluten-filled desserts, these cookies fool him everytime 🙂 I think he actually prefers the flourless variety…and that’s saying a whole lot!

Instead of using raw banana, I opted for banana chips for extra crunch and texture, which worked out wonderfully! If you are anything like me, you can whip a batch up on the spur of a moment since they are basic ingredients you probably have on hand…minus maybe the banana chips.

I love baking cookies in mini muffin tins because the shape is uniform (why does this matter? I guess it’s my perfectionist side coming out) and you get the crunchy outside with a chewy middle…that’s my ideal cookie! I love anything mini (food, figurines, utensils, gadgets etc)  so these bite-sized treats contribute to the “cute factor” as well : ) Feel free to use a cookie sheet though if that what makes you happy!

If you aren’t a fan of peanut butter or are allergic to peanuts, you could substitute  sunflower seed butter and roasted sunflower seeds for the chopped peanuts if needed.

Flourless Chunky Monkey Chip Cookies  (adapted from this recipe on All Recipes)

Ingredients

1 cup of creamy peanut butter (I use the natural PB, just nuts and salt)*
1 cup of granulated sweetener (brown sugar, white sugar, Sucanat or coconut/palm sugar**)
1 egg, well beaten
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon, optional (I love the sweetness)
1/2 tsp gluten free vanilla extract
1/3 cup of honey roasted peanuts, chopped (or regular roasted or toffee peanuts would work too)
1/3 cup chocolate or carob chips or chunks
1/4 cup banana chips, crushed + 12 banana chips broken in half

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or silicone mat or grease two mini muffin tins (I used the tins to create bite-size treats).
2. In a medium size bowl, add peanut butter, sweetener, egg, baking soda, cinnamon and vanilla and stir to combine until forms a dough. Fold in peanuts, chocolate chips and chopped banana chips until well incorporated.
3. Form dough balls (I use a tablespoon) and place onto lined cookie sheet or into muffin cups. Add half of a banana chip into top of ball.
4. Bake for 8-11 minutes until golden brown – ovens vary so keep an eye on them – then let cool (remove from tins if using) and enjoy!

* If using unsalted nut butter, you maybe want to add 1/2 tsp of sea salt to dough, optional.
**If the palm sugar is really coarse, pulse for a few seconds in a blender to break up slightly (mine was really clumpy!).

Happy Noshing!

16 thoughts on “Flourless Chunky Monkey Chip Cookies

  1. I never thought of using banana chips in a cookie, what a great idea! Major peanut butter/chocolate fan over here, too 🙂 These sound and look delicious!

      • Rick and I just split the last cookie and I had to PROMISE to make more! Rick keeps telling me he knows these MUST be healthy but he guesses he’ll eat them anyway. Ha!

  2. Pingback: 7 Ingredients for a Healthy Holiday Season « Natural Noshing

  3. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes for 2011 and Happy New Year! « Natural Noshing

  4. Pingback: To Flourless Chunky Monkey Chip Cookies | insatiably

  5. Ok, so I made these today substituting almond butter and crushed almonds for peanut butter and peanuts (personal preference). My kitchen smelled AWESOME and my husband can’t stop eating them (in fact, he just told me he could eat the entire tray).

    But, I’m not sure where I went wrong, but when I took the mini muffin trays out of the oven, I tried to turn one of them over and almost all of the middles (too gooey, maybe?) fell out.

    I think either I didn’t cook them long enough or should’ve sprayed the tins more… what do you think? The cookies from the second tray came out a bit better (I waited until it cooled more) but still seemed kind of sunken and not super stable looking like the ones in your pic.

    Don’t get me wrong – this recipe is a keeper! They are delicious! I just would like them to stay together more next time.
    -Dana

  6. Pingback: Chunky Monkey Cookies and Chicken Quinoa | Fuel Your Future with Tina Muir

  7. Pingback: Double Sesame Cookies | Natural Noshing

Leave a comment