Best Grilled Salmon Fillets

Wild Salmon – hands down, it’s my seafood of choice! I love it and my tummy always thanks me after eating this delicious fish. Chock-full of protein and lots of healthy Omega-3’s, this fish is one nutritional powerhouse! It’s considered a superfood and has seen to even lower cholesterol due to it’s high content of monosatured fats (these are the good kind!). Some say it’s good for your mind, and couldn’t we all use a brain boost? When grocery shopping, I always grab the wild salmon to avoid the funky food dyes they stick into the farm-raised kind! Sometimes I like it simply grilled with oil, salt and pepper but this marinade kicks it up a notch with extra flavor. Even those not typically fond of salmon will enjoy this grilled version, which can also be baked or pan-cooked for a different variation.  Serve with brown rice (pressure cooker recipe to come!) or baked sweet potato and veggies for a healthy dinner.

Best Grilled Salmon Fillets

Ingredients

4 Wild Salmon fillets (4-6 oz each)
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp honey (brown sugar could be substituted)
1 1/2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 Tbsp GF soy sauce, Braggs or tamari
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 tsp sesame seeds
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 crushed red pepper, or to taste
1 or 2 green onions, chopped – divided (save some to serve after cooking)

Directions

1. Mix all ingredients except for salmon in small bowl.
2. Place fish fillets in a baking dish and pour marinade mixture over the fish. Cover and refrigerate for at least four hours or overnight.
3.  Heat grill pan* to medium-high heat. Cook for 6-8 minutes on each side (skin side down first) or until fish flakes easily with fork.
4. Top with additional green onions and enjoy!

Serves 4

*I use a grill pan for easy cooking indoors for two. If using an outdoor grill, make sure grill is greased before cooking or wrap fish in aluminum foil sprayed with olive oil before placing on grill for quick clean-up.

Baking Method: Preheat oven to 400F. Bake uncovered in baking dish for 20 minutes or until fish flakes easily.

16 thoughts on “Best Grilled Salmon Fillets

  1. I don’t like to cook fish, but this looks so appetizing I will definitely give it a try! We should all be so lucky to eat dinner at your house on the nights you photograph your recipes. Yum!

  2. How sweet is this preparation? I’m a big fan of salmon but generally shy away from sweetened salmon unless it is very minimal.

    • Hi Dianna! It’s pretty minimal due to the soy sauce and balsamic, but you could decease the honey to 1/2 Tbsp and I think it would be equally as good. There is a bit of heat from the crushed red pepper and ginger to help balance out the slight sweetness as well.

  3. Yum yum yum! Please come over and make this for me. I’ll make oaties for dessert and try to keep CD out of them until you arrive. 😉

    Thank you so much for your kind words regarding my blog. Looks like yours is off to a great start, and I’d love to meet up if I ever find myself in Denver…which I hope to do one day soon. Colorado is such a beautiful place. We love it out there!

  4. your marinade/glaze sounds so interesting! i’d never think to mix balsamic and soy sauce. i’m so interested to try this!

  5. Pingback: What's for dinner? - Page 10 - 3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community 30-Somethings

  6. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday 1/14 | The Meanest Momma

  7. Pingback: How do you eat your salmon? | thewhitedish

  8. Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you really
    realize what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Please also visit my site =). We will have a hyperlink exchange agreement among us

Leave a comment