Java Chip Smoothie

March 8, 2012 at 6:30 am 19 comments

Today is a special day – it’s my mom’s birthday! So I want to give a big birthday shout out to my fabulous mother – not only is she my biggest fan, she is one of my best friends and she deserves an amazing day! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM, I love you!

I thought I’d post a recipe today that with flavors my mom enjoys…coffee and chocolate! I’ve never been one to consume much caffeine or coffee on a regular basis but I do enjoy mocha and coffee flavored drinks and desserts. When opting for a hot drink, I would much rather have a cup of tea as opposed to coffee but I’ve also come to appreciate a little caffeine boost during the start of our new yogurt store :)

Here’s a mocha-inspired protein smoothie that is a delicious snack, after-workout drink or on-the-go breakfast!

Java Chip Smoothie 

Ingredients

1 cup non-dairy milk (almond, rice, coconut, soy, hemp)
2-3 dashes of ground cinnamon
1 scoop of protein powder (use soy,rice or hemp for vegan)
1-2 medjool dates
1 Tbsp raw cacao powder (regular cocoa powder could be subbed)
2 tsp instant coffee granules (regular or decaf)
4-5 ice cubes
1 tsp cacao nibs or chocolate chips for serving

Directions

1. Add non-daory milk through ice cubes to a blender and combine until smooth, about 1 minute. Pour into a glass and sprinkle with cacao bins (or chocolate chips) and enjoy!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks, Smoothies & Beverages, Vegan, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Mediterranean Scramble with Goat Cheese Lemony Chard and Chicken Skillet

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ostranderblog  |  March 8, 2012 at 7:16 am

    NYUUUUUUUM… And Happy Birthday to your Mum!!🙂

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  March 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm

      🙂 I am sure my mom would thank you for the bday wishes!

      Reply
  • 3. sexytofu  |  March 8, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Looks SO good! I love mocha breakfast smoothies. The best idea ever.

    Reply
  • 5. Heidi @ Food Doodles  |  March 8, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Happy birthday to your mom!😀
    Your smoothie looks so good – I’ve been craving anything coffee flavored lately but I’ve been resisting going out for a good coffee since I hardly ever make coffee at home. This looks like something I would enjoy way more than an overpriced coffee😀

    Reply
  • 6. Natalie  |  March 8, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    This smoothie sounds delicious! I think it would also be very good with some peanut butter or PB2 powder mixed in! Definitely going to try this! Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
  • 7. Cara  |  March 8, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    Happy Birthday, Nora’s Mommy! I think it is fair to say that YOU are her best b-day present🙂 I’m not a big fan of shakes/smoothies but this, THIS is something I could guzzle down in seconds…

    Reply
    • 8. naturalnoshing  |  March 12, 2012 at 8:20 pm

      Awww you are such a sweetheart Cara!🙂 I thought you might like a coffee version of a smoothie – how about I trade you one of your delicious looking bagels for one of these smoothies?!?

      Reply
      • 9. Cara  |  March 12, 2012 at 8:29 pm

        Consider it an even trade🙂

  • 10. Sonia The Healthy Foodie  |  March 9, 2012 at 9:30 am

    Ooooh… I love the idea of adding instant coffee powder to a smoothie! Not something that I would do regularly, for I don’t think that it’s the healthiest of options, but still… the flavor that must come from it. HAS to be amazing. I have to give this one a try! Thanks for the idea, and happy belated birthday to your mom!🙂

    Reply
    • 11. naturalnoshing  |  March 12, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      It is very yummy! You’re probably right in that it’s not the best option (I’ll have to look into it!) but I don’t drink coffee so I didn’t have actual coffee to use in this🙂 I had some granulated coffee lying around for some reason..probably to bring out the chocolate flavor in some baked goods from a while ago, who knows what you will find in my crazy pantry!

      Reply
    • 12. naturalnoshing  |  March 12, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      oh!! and my mom says thank you!

      Reply
  • 13. Kathy  |  March 9, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Yum! I, too, would choose a cup of tea over some coffee.
    Happy birthday to your mother, by the way :]

    Reply
    • 14. naturalnoshing  |  March 12, 2012 at 8:24 pm

      Tea rocks, there’s something about it that is so comforting to me! Thanks for the birthday wishes for my mom!

      Reply
  • 15. Lou  |  March 11, 2012 at 3:18 am

    You’re a good daughter now, aren’t you? Bet your Mom was tickled pink…anything that involves coffee and chocolate = joy🙂

    Reply
    • 16. naturalnoshing  |  March 12, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      Oh I try🙂 hehe! I can’t wait to try out some of your recipes btw! Thanks for saying hi!

      Reply
  • […] Java Chip Smoothie | Natural Noshing […]

    Reply
  • 19. 40+ Sensational Smoothies to Sip On - Smart Girls Lift  |  March 10, 2015 at 11:15 am

    […] Java Chip Smoothie | Natural Noshing […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 999 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

