Kickin’ Cashew Chicken

February 17, 2012 at 6:30 am 3 comments

I had a girls night a couple weeks ago with a new girl friend in Helena. I love a good excuse to try a new recipe and get together in the kitchen!

Thank goodness my guest was not picky at all; that makes for a stress-free and fun-filled evening. I had my eye on Lindsay’s Kickin’ Cashew Chicken at Pinch of Yum so Indian food was on the menu🙂 I increased the tomato paste along with a few of the spices, added a serrano for a kick and tossed in some fresh veggies to bulk up the meal. Winner! Both my food-loving guest and the hostess were delighted with the results!

Classic — the original recipe called for the cashews to be blended into the sauce. I got to talking (and of course, not paying attention) and wound up adding them in with the golden raisins toward the end of cooking. This was fine by me since I love texture in my dishes – another happy accident🙂

Kickin’ Cashew Chicken (adapted from Pinch of Yum)

Ingredients

2 medium onions, peeled and quartered
6 Tbsp tomato paste
1/2 cup cashews (I bought raw and toasted them but already roasted is fine too)
1 1/2 Tbsp garam masala
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp chili powder (I used mild)
1/2 tsp to 1 tsp sea salt
1 Tbsp lemon juice (about 1/2 lemon)
2 Tbsp plain yogurt (I used Greek)
1 serrano chili pepper, deseeded and deveined (omit for mild dish)
1 Tbsp coconut oil (grapeseed, canola, ghee or butter can be used)
3/4 to 1 lb chicken breast, cubed
1 1/2 cups fresh mushroom slices
1 small red bell pepper, diced
2 handfuls of fresh spinach (about 3 cups)
1/2 cup golden raisins
1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1 cup water

For serving: cooked rice, quinoa, millet etc (I used brown rice)

Directions

1. In a food processor, process the onion pieces for about 1 minute or until a smooth puree forms. Add the next 9 ingredients (paste through serrano) to the onion mixture and process for another 1-2 minutes. If you want a chunkier sauce, pulse until desired texture is reached.
2. In a heavy pan, heat the oil over medium heat. Pour the spice mixture from the food processor into the pan and saute for 2 minutes. The lightly cooked spices will start to give off a nice aroma.
3. Add the cubed chicken breast, veggies, half of the cilantro, and the golden raisins. Stir-fry for another minute or so.
4. Add the water and bring to a simmer. Cover and cook over low heat for about 10 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through. Serve over rice and garnish with remaining cilantro and/or cashew pieces. Enjoy!

Recipe Notes: If you’re hesitant about the cilantro and/or the quantity of spice, reduce the amounts to your liking. The sauce without the serrano is not all that spicy, omit pepper for a milder version. There are lots of flavorful spices, but it’s not firey-hot-get-me-a-glass-of-water spicy.

Entry filed under: Chicken & Poultry, Gluten Free, Lunch, Main Dish, Refined Sugar Free. Tags: , , , , , , .

Chickpea and Paneer Stew Midnight Fudge

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chicken Nuggets and Elmo  |  February 17, 2012 at 9:43 am

    looks delicious! I’m going vegetarian over Lent but this is easily adaptable to that. I’m so glad I found your blog.

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  February 27, 2012 at 11:59 am

      I’ve been mulling over going veggie for a couple weeks to see if I can do it – how are things going on the vegetarian train? I’m so happy you found me too!

      Reply
  • 3. Lindsay @ Pinch of Yum  |  March 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    I’m not sure how I ended up on this post but it makes me happy! Glad you liked this Nora! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 999 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

