Hot Maple Cinnamon Oat Bran

February 1, 2012 at 6:30 am 5 comments

There’s nothing like a warm breakfast on a cold winter morning. For me, comforting carbs with an optional boost of protein and natural sweeteners hit the spot every time.

Hot cooked oats with high-fiber flax, sweet cinnamon and maple syrup combine for a hearty and energy-packed breakfast. For those of you who aren’t much into early morning meals, this dish could also be served as a mid-morning or pre-workout snack.

You’ll have to excuse the smaller bowl/portion that is photographed…I was hungry after my morning workout and I proceeded to eat about 1/3 of this dish prior to taking photos. My rubbling stomach got the best of me🙂

Hot Maple Oat Bran

Ingredients

1/2 cup oat bran (or half gluten free rolled oats and half oat bran)
1 cup water
pinch of salt
1/2 to 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder, optional for protein boost
1 Tbsp flaxseed meal (chia seeds or hemp seeds would also be delicious)
1 tsp coconut oil, butter, ghee or earth balance (can omit for lower fat but I like the richness)
1 to 3 tsp maple syrup to taste (agave or honey could be subbed)
1/8 to 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
5-6 pecan halves, chopped (other nuts/seeds can be subbed)
fresh berries

Directions

1. In a small saucepan, combine oat bran, salt and water over the stove on high heat. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer and stir until desired consistency is reached, stirring often (mine cooks for about 2 minutes).
2. Remove from heat and stir in protein powder, coconut oil/butter, maple syrup, flax meal, cinnamon and half of pecans.
3. Top with berries and remaining pecans and enjoy!

Serves one (can be doubled or tripled)

For flavor variations: use a different sweetener like honey or agave, top with almond butter, pecan butter, cashew butter, coconut butter, shredded coconut, bananas, non-dairy milk, yogurt and/or dried fruit

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Vegan, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Smokey Tomato and Shrimp Stew Skillet Sorghum Pilaf with Mushrooms

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cara  |  February 1, 2012 at 10:50 am

    I’m just giggling over here, imagining you trying to photograph the food yet feeding yourself by the spoonful…

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  February 1, 2012 at 5:45 pm

      Haha yes maam! That’s about how it went down🙂

      Reply
      • 3. Sonia The Healthy Foodie  |  February 4, 2012 at 10:27 pm

        LOL! I so can relate! So hard to resist warm, ooey and gooey, sweet and cinnamony oats, especially after a workout. I always have a very hard time too. Especially when there’s goat cheese sprinkled all over it (keep an eye out for tomorrow’s post, you’ll understand!)

        Oh, I want me a bowl of oatmeal right now! I was thinking of going grain free as my observance of Lent this year, but seeing meals such as this one sort of enfeebles my ambitions…😉

  • 4. Heidi @ Food Doodles  |  February 1, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Mmmm, this sounds delicious. I’m usually pretty creative with my morning oats, but I can’t believe I’ve never thought of maple and pecans before! That sounds awesome!

    Reply
    • 5. naturalnoshing  |  February 1, 2012 at 5:46 pm

      Thanks Heidi! I love pecans and maple together – the nuts are buttery and the maple is sweet and earthy – if you give it a go, I’d love to hear what you think!🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 999 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

