Curry Veggie Scramble or Tacos

December 13, 2011 at 8:30 am 8 comments

Lately, I am all about one dish meals – they are simple, quick and I don’t have to wash many dishes. The last reason may sound like I am lazy…but really, I am without a dishwasher for the first time in my life and I’m still adjusting.

Less complicated meals = less dishes, and that makes me happy🙂 Not to mention, since Chris has been gone for a week, I don’t have the same motivation to make elaborate meals without someone to share them with.

For some reason, I’ve recently been craving all things egg – scrambles, fried eggs, quiches, pizza etc. Apparently, I’m off my squash kick and moved onto eggs (and cookies/bars, but that’s for a different post) so if you see more recipes featuring this high-protein ingredient, you will know why! 

I love this dish not only because it’s fast and nutritious, but also it’s incredibly delicious. Start your day with a scramble packed with protein and vegetables or serve the mixture with warmed corn tortillas or a gluten free brown rice tortilla for a breakfast taco – you won’t be disappointed.

You don’t have to save this for our morning meal though, I ate this for dinner one evening – breakfast for dinner anyone?

For a vegetarian dish, eliminate the sausage. If you aren’t a fan of eggs, you can easily make this vegan by substituting crumbled tofu (and eliminate sausage as well).

Curry Veggie Scramble or Breakfast Tacos

Ingredients

1-2 tsp coconut oil, butter, ghee, grapeseed oil or olive oil (use oil for vegan and dairy free)
1- 2 eggs, whisked or 1/2 cup crumbled firm or extra firm tofu or a combo (use tofu for vegan)
1/2 – 1 tsp curry powder to taste
dash of crushed red pepper flakes
1 nitrate-free cooked chicken bratwurst, crumbled or diced (omit for vegetarian or if desired)
1 garlic clove, minced (can use a rounded 1/4 tsp garlic powder if needed)
1/2 cup red bell pepper, diced
1/3 – 1/2 cup onion, diced (I used red but any will work here)
handful of baby greens (spinach, chard, collards) – about 1 cup
sea salt and pepper to taste
2 tsp nutritional yeast, optional for cheesy flavor

Corn tortillas, warmed for serving (optional for tacos)

Directions

1. In a medium skillet, heat oil over medium heat.
2. Combine chicken sausage, garlic, bell pepper and onion and cook for about 3 minutes, until onions are translucent. (If using tofu, add at this step as well).
3. Add curry powder and red pepper and cook an additional 1-2 minutes. Mix in greens and cook one minute until beginning to wilt.
4. Push veggie mixture to the side or create a hole in the middle and pour in whisked eggs. Let cook for 30 seconds, stir and cook for an additional 1-2 minutes until eggs are cooked through. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from heat and stir in nutritional yeast, if using.
5. Serve alone as a scramble or in warmed tortillas as a breakfast taco and enjoy!

Serves one (or you can probably make this two small servings if you use 2-3 eggs)

*you can always add cut or torn strips of tortilla to the skillet along with the spinach in step 3 for an Indian-inspired “migas” meal

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Chicken & Poultry, Gluten Free, Lunch, Main Dish, Refined Sugar Free, Vegan, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Chocolate Brownie-Muffins aka “Bruffins” Rich n’ Creamy Hot Cocoa (Dairy Free)

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Danielle Elliott  |  December 13, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    OK i’m gonna be making this one for sure!!! Mouth-watering just thinking about it.

    Reply
  • 3. Cara  |  December 15, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Why am I thinking about our date when I see this? haha.

    Reply
    • 4. naturalnoshing  |  December 15, 2011 at 9:10 am

      It DOES remind me of our date at Watercourse!!!! Maybe that’s what got me on my scramble kick…good memories! Funny because I’ve made a different one almost every morning with eggs and/or tofu and add-ins🙂

      Reply
      • 5. Cara  |  December 16, 2011 at 8:34 am

        Aaaaaaah, you miss me🙂 hehe.

      • 6. naturalnoshing  |  December 16, 2011 at 2:03 pm

        YESSSS, I do!!🙂

  • 7. Sonia The Healthy Foodie  |  December 15, 2011 at 9:34 am

    This looks so good and easy to make! I have to put that on the menu for next week!

    Reply
    • 8. naturalnoshing  |  December 16, 2011 at 2:05 pm

      SUPER easy🙂 I hope you enjoy! I’ve also been adding a small handful of chopped walnuts to my scrambles, especially the tofu variety, LOVE the texture and flavor – yum, yum!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

