Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

October 21, 2011 at 9:30 am 10 comments

I don’t know about you, but I got a little nervous about the forecasted “pumpkin shortage”, I stocked up a couple weeks ago on my beloved Libby’s pumpkin puree (6 cans). Apparently that still isn’t enough pumpkin for me. I’ve also been roasting chunks of fresh baby bear and sugar pie pumpkins to throw in cooked quinoa and other grains, omelets and soups but I’ve also sprinkled the cubes with cinnamon and a drizzle of maple syrup and topped it off with either chopped pecans, walnuts or almonds for a sweet snack or side (YUM).

I’ve also been making my fair share of pumpkin and/or winter squash smoothies these days – I adore warm spices and this quick and easy protein smoothie is packed with flavor and nutrition. I could eat butternut squash and pumpkin year round…so I apologize if I will bombard this blog with recipes incorporating winter squash for a little while. I hope you don’t mind🙂

For a sip of Fall flavors, try this smoothie for a quick on-the-go breakfast, an afternoon snack or even a light lunch when you are short on time.

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie 

Ingredients

1/2 cup cooked pumpkin or pumpkin puree (or other winter squash like butternut or kabocha or sweet potato)
1/2 scoop of your favorite protein powder or 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt or both
1/2 cup non-dairy milk (coconut milk, almond milk, rice milk)
1 tsp chia seeds (or ground flaxseed)
1 medjool date OR 1 – 2 tsp maple syrup, honey or agave (or more to taste)
1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon or more to taste (I eyeball it and use more but I love cinnamon)
1/4 tsp ground ginger, optional
a few dashes of ground cloves and ground nutmeg
4-5 ice cubes

Directions

1. Add all ingredients to a blender and combine until smooth and well-incorpated. Sprinkle with ground cinnamon if desired and enjoy!

Serves 1

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

Tomato-Sauce Poached Eggs over Amaranth Grits – Bulk up your Breakfast! Baked Butternut Squash “Fries”

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stacielk  |  October 21, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Mmmm…this sounds tasty! Even though I’m drinking a homemade pumpkin spice latte right now, still sounds good though!

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  October 22, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      Yum! I love pumpkin spice lattes and I am not even a coffee drinker, it’s all about the spice and the pumpkin! : )

      Reply
  • 3. Cindy  |  October 21, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    This looks delightful!
    Shortage? What shortage? This is the first I’ve heard about it. Panic!

    Reply
    • 4. naturalnoshing  |  October 23, 2011 at 11:25 am

      Thanks Cindy! It’s equally as yummy and refreshing🙂
      I’m hoping the shortage is just a rumor – I heard the news floating around and read this article recently so I immediately freaked! I need to get buy even more cans if that’s the truth!

      Reply
  • 5. Lauren @ Recipes for a Quarterlife  |  October 21, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    this sounds great! i just may whip one together tomorrow morning…

    Reply
    • 6. naturalnoshing  |  October 22, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks Lauren, I hope you enjoy!🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Maaza  |  October 25, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Thanks Natural Noshing! Just made it this morning & it was delish!

    Reply
    • 8. naturalnoshing  |  October 25, 2011 at 12:28 pm

      I am glad you enjoyed this Maaza!🙂 I appreciate the feedback as well, that’s always wonderful to hear!

      Reply
  • […] to chicken vindaloo curry, 1/2 tsp to overnight oats or traditionally cooked oatmeal, or a pumpkin pie smoothie will help transform dishes into an exciting new […]

    Reply
  • 10. Kabocha Squash Lovin’ « Natural Noshing  |  November 16, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    […] Substitute Kabocha puree for pumpkin in my Pumpkin Pie Smoothie […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

