Tangy Tomatillo Avocado Dip (or Sauce)

October 12, 2011 at 5:54 pm 9 comments

I bought a new bag of tortilla chips at Sprouts Farmers Market this weekend – Beanfield’s Bean and Rice Chips (Sea Salt flavor) and I was super excited to open the bag when I got back home. Is it just me or does buying a new food to try out make you happy, excited and hungry all at the same time?!?

Disclaimer: Tortilla chips do not last long at ALL at our house. There is something incredibly addicting about a salty tortilla chip that makes me swoon. Between Chris and I sharing over snack and a meal, the bag literally disappears…it’s one of my weaknesses, please don’t judge🙂

Not only were these chips delicious and extremely crunchy, they are corn-free, gluten free, high in fiber (4 grams per serving), non-GMO plus one serving equals a complete protein (4 grams per serving). In case you aren’t a bean fan (though I love these high-fiber friends), I was unable to detect the beans themselves – no worries! I was pretty impressed by the short list of ingredients as well:

Rice, beans, oil and salt – my kind of food! Beanfield’s offers three flavors – Sea Salt, Salt and Pepper, and Pico de Gallo. I opted for the sea salt variety as it had the shortest list of ingredients and no added sugar, I was a happy camper!

I could have enjoyed these crunchy chips plain straight out of the bag but thought a creamy but tangy dip would pair nicely. I bought a couple avocados and tomatillos and whipped up an incredibly quick and easy dip that helps extend the avocado (which can be a bit pricey). The tomatillos and lime add a beautiful brightness to the dip while the avocado provides a smooth mouthfeel with a slight kick from the jalapeno. This dip could also be served as a sauce over grilled steak, fish or chicken or ladled over eggs or grains🙂

Tangy Tomatillo Avocado Dip (or Sauce)

Ingredients

1 or 2 ripe avocados, cut into chunks (use a 2nd avocado for a creamier consistency, I used one in the photos)
4-5 fresh tomatillos, husked removed, washed (to remove stickiness) and coarsely chopped
1 jalapeno, deseeded and deveined, coarsely chopped
1 garlic clove, minced (if you really like raw garlic, increase to 2 cloves)
1/2 medium onion, coarsely chopped (any color)
Juice from 1 lime (or you could probably sub 1/2 lemon)
1 handful of fresh cilantro (about 1/4 cup)
sea salt to taste

Directions

1. Add all ingredients to a blender and puree until smooth, about 2-3 minutes. Add salt to taste and serve chilled as a dip with your favorite tortilla chips or as a sauce spooned over grilled meat, fish or eggs.

If you prefer a chunky dip, pulse the mixture instead of blending thoroughly.

Recipe Notes: For a roasted flavor, broil the tomatillos, onion and whole garlic clove on rack of a broiler pan 1 to 2 inches from heat, turning once, until tomatillos are softened and slightly charred, about 7 minutes. Broil garlic for a couple minutes only to avoid a bitter flavor.

Going in for a dip!

Entry filed under: Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks, Vegan. Tags: , , , , , .

No-Bake Chocolate Pudding Mini Tarts Shredded “Pumpkin” Butternut Squash Salad for Halloween!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sonia The Healthy Foodie  |  October 12, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    YUMMERS! Those tortilla chips really look incredible! And that dip! Gorgeous. I happen to have 5 avocados in my fridge… yeah, FIVE! They were on sale last week and I got a bit carried away. This sounds like a great plan to use one or two…😉

    Oh, and no, it’s not just you. When I buy new food to try, I’m just like a kid at Christmas, I have to try it right now, sometimes, I can hardly wait until I am out of the store. More often than not, I will start tasting said item as soon as I get in my car, and if it’s good, I have a hard time stopping at just one taste.

    Yep, new foods are just the best. Oddly enough, though, I got my hands on Matcha Green Tea powder last week, and I haven’t even tried it yet. Hmmpft. That is just wrong. I am so having a green tea smoothie for breakfast tomorrow! Green tea and avocado, maybe?

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  October 13, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      5 avocados – nice!!! I love how versatile the fruit is – sweet, savory or for breakfast, lunch, dinner,snack – LOVE!
      YES, I am THE SAME way. I think we really are twins separated at birth — I can barely wait until I get out of the store and then I can’t ever stop at just one bite!!
      I would just looooove to play with matcha green tea powder – ohh, smoothie, truffles, frosting, cake, breakfast bake – oh I can’t wait until you post something with your new buy!

      Reply
      • 3. Sonia The Healthy Foodie  |  October 13, 2011 at 5:39 pm

        Oh, now you got me wanting to play with matcha! I’m thinking Green Tea and Black Beans Cake Roll…

        Thanks for the inspiration!🙂

      • 4. naturalnoshing  |  October 15, 2011 at 10:43 am

        ahhh – YES!!!!! That sounds awesome!

  • 5. Sonia The Healthy Foodie  |  October 12, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Oh, ps. Your pictures are getting better by the day, girlfriend! That last one there, going for a dip? AMAZING! Love it!😀

    Reply
    • 6. naturalnoshing  |  October 13, 2011 at 1:41 pm

      Really?!?!? Thank you thank you thank you!!! That makes me SO happy!

      Reply
  • 8. Cara  |  October 13, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Right now I am screaming at the computer screen, “YES!!!!” Greg and I LOVE these chips. And when I say love, I mean, we went to Sprouts last week and literally bought 15 bags. I’m not even kidding you. Those will last 2 weeks, if that🙂 I must try this dip now. I am the biggest avocado fan (I can eat guacamole everyday for lunch!) but I love the sound of the tangy tomatillo alongside it…

    Reply
    • 9. naturalnoshing  |  October 13, 2011 at 1:47 pm

      YAY! I LOVE that you went to the store and bought 15 bags- I am SO impressed! You gotta stock up! I am going back this weekend and buying some more bags for “all my snacking needs”🙂 Couldn’t you sit and eat a whole bag yourself?!? OH so addicting and SO goood!
      Avocados are by far one of my fav ingredients (esp recently!) – guac is amazing…drool…I could definitely eat it everyday!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 986 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

