Grain-Free, Yeast-Free Mini Flax Loaf

September 9, 2011 at 3:39 pm 13 comments

Happy Friday! I keep cooking faster than I can post – I have a back log of recipes and treats that I need to share with you but have a stack of recipes on my desk to write up…I know, I need to get on top of things!

To start, I made this easy bread a few weeks ago – no gums, yeast or others funky fillers required, just a simple recipe for a mini flax loaf that is grain-free, yeast-free and gluten free – and still delicious🙂 If you are in the mood for a slice of bread but don’t want to make an gigantic loaf, here’s a quick and easy recipe you can whip up to have alongside your lunch or dinner.

I adapted the recipe from Shirley’s Kiva’s Flax Bread over at Gluten Free Easily – add your own twist by incorporating your favorite spices or herbs in the mix to make a sweet or savory loaf – adding a touch or honey, ground cinnamon and a tablespoon of raisins and you have a high fiber version of cinnamon-raisin bread🙂 Toss some shredded cheese and garlic powder into the mixture and you have a cheesy-garlic bread. I added italian seasoning to mine and served it with my turkey meatballs and tomato sauce, delish!

If you want to make a larger batch, you can double (use small loaf pan) or triple (use regular size loaf pan) the recipe.

Grain-Free, Yeast-Free Mini Flax Loaf (adapted from Gluten Free Easily)

Ingredients

1/3 cup + 2 tsp golden flax seed meal (I grind my whole flaxseeds in my Magic Bullet)
2 Tbsp almond meal (pecan meal or hazelnut meal work too)
3/4 tsp grain-free baking powder
salt to taste + fresh herbs (I used 1/2 tsp italian seasoning)
1 1/2 to 2 tsp olive oil, coconut oil or butter
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 tsp water
1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar, optional

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly grease a 6 inch baking dish, large ramekin or small crock with oil or butter or line with parchment paper.
2. In a mixing bowl, whisk dry ingredients together.
3. In a small bowl, combine wet ingredients and whisk until incorporated. Add to dry ingredients and stir until just moistened.
4. Spread batter into prepared baking dish and cook for 20-25 minutes until knife or toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Eat plain, top with your favorite spread/nut butter or fill with sandwich fixins’ and enjoy!

Recipe Notes: You can serve warm or at room temperature.

Entry filed under: Breads, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Yogurt Cheesecake in a Jar for Two Sweet and Savory Butter Madness!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessy (squeezetheday)  |  September 10, 2011 at 1:56 am

    Oh, I love this!! Added to my bookmarks.😀

    Reply
  • 2. My Fudo  |  September 17, 2011 at 9:33 am

    Those with stomach yeast problem. This could be your chance to eat a yeast free loaf which you’ve always wanted. I look at the loaf as a delighting antidote for my yeast problem.

    Reply
  • 3. Aly  |  September 18, 2011 at 7:11 am

    Any substitute for almond meal? I desperately want to make this but have none on hand!

    Reply
    • 4. naturalnoshing  |  September 19, 2011 at 10:35 am

      Hi Aly! I haven’t tried it but possibly using all flaxseed meal would work? Or any ground nut could be subbed, ground buckwheat/buckwheat flour (it’s a seed not a grain if you are looking for grain-free) or a bean flour? If you give it a try, I’d love to know how it turns out. If I get a chance, I’ll have to experiment!

      Reply
  • 5. Lynelle Babst  |  September 19, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I’m a very long time watcher and I just imagined I’d stop by and say hello for that first time. I actually delight in your posts. Many thanks

    Reply
  • 6. 10 Free Yeast Sites | How to Treat a Yeast Infection at Home  |  September 27, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    […] Grain-Free, Yeast-Free Mini Flax Loaf Natural NoshingSep 9, 2011 Grain-Free, Yeast-Free Mini Flax Loaf (adapted from Gluten Those with stomach yeast problem. […]

    Reply
  • […] slice, and nut butter has ~2 grams for a total of at least 5 grams of fiber to start your day. My high-fiber and grain free flax bread would work as a great gluten free substitute […]

    Reply
  • 8. Hello  |  January 18, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    You can make your own almond meal by putting almonds in a coffee grinder until it is fine and smooth – not too long though or else it will make almond butter

    Reply
  • 9. Tanya  |  June 18, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    Hi there this looks fab!! Can the egg be substituted as I have an egg intolerance? Thank-you:)

    Reply
    • 10. naturalnoshing  |  July 3, 2013 at 1:39 pm

      You could try an egg replacer (like Energy-G) but can’t vouch for the results, it might not rise as much but you could give it a try!

      Reply
  • 11. Kelsey  |  November 26, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Would regular flax seeds work? I don’t have golden flax but PLENTY of brown flax seeds!

    Reply
    • 12. naturalnoshing  |  November 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

      Yes! It was just change the color of the bread, that’s all🙂 Happy baking!

      Reply
  • 13. Sweet Plantain Rolls (Paleo, Vegan) | Natural Noshing  |  September 12, 2016 at 3:34 pm

    […] variations of lentil bread, whipped up skillet bread with quinoa and buckwheat and mini flaxseed meal loafs, and now plantains. In the paleo and grain-free world, plantains are the perfect starch substitute […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 986 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

