Chicken with Bruschetta Vegetables

July 23, 2011 at 1:43 pm 1 comment

On Thursday, I was determined to clean out the fridge..well, at least that was my excuse so I could make room for a hefty grocery store run this weekend and my new delivered goodies from NutsOnlineūüôā I discovered NutsOnline a couple years ago and I have never been disappointed with any of the items I’ve ordered…and I’ve ordered a bunch – from nuts, dried fruits, flours, snack mixes, baking ingredients, candy, chocolate, etc – they have it all! My latest order included 1 pound packages of teff flour, sun-dried tomatoes, unsweetened shredded coconut, cacao nibs, roasted/unsalted almonds, white chia seeds, a two sample packs of goji berries and turkish figs — YUM! You can expect some new recipes soon from this highly-anticipated online delivery!!!

Now back to the recipe — I had bits of leftover veggies and a half pound of chicken tenders I needed to use up. I was having a bit of a brain lapse and couldn’t think of anything really creative to make on the fly, so I shuffled through my old recipe binder from 4 years ago. Side note – I used to print off recipes I found online, write my own suggestions down after looking through the recipe reviews and organize them in 4-inch binder…unfortunately, I don’t have much time for that now and just bookmark, plus it saves trees! As I was thumbing through the “poultry section”, I ¬†came across a recipe for Chicken Bruschetta from Cooking Light that inspired this easy weeknight meal. I even found the original recipe online too, which can be found here¬†at myrecipes.com.

This light meal is great served with garlic bread or with a side of garlic roasted potatoes. The vegetable topping is delicious served over broiled chicken as stated here or as I have made it in the past with grilled chicken, whichever you prefer!

Chicken with Balsamic-Bruschetta Vegetables

Ingredients

1/2 lb of chicken tenders (could use skinless,boneless chicken breasts, just make sure they aren’t too thick)
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 Tbsp olive oil, divided
1/2 cup mushrooms, sliced
1 small yellow squash, chopped (or use zucchini)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 plum tomato, chopped
1/2 cup chopped red onion
big handful of fresh spinach
1/3 cup chopped fresh basil
2 tsp balsamic vinegar
Grated parmesan cheese for sprinkling  (about 2-3 Tbsp)
Salt and pepper

Directions

1. Preheat broiler.
2. Combine garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste in a small bowl. Drizzle chicken with a tsp of oil and then sprinkle with garlic powder mixture. Place the chicken on a broiler pan, and broil for 5 minutes, flip chicken over and broil another 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and no longer pink inside. Remove the chicken from pan, and keep warm.
3. Heat remaining 2 tsp of oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms, squash, and minced garlic; sauté 2 minutes. Add tomato, onion, spinach, basil, and vinegar and salt and pepper to taste (I used about 1/4 tsp of salt and 1/8 of pepper), then sauté 3 minutes. Serve the vegetable mixture over chicken; sprinkle with cheese and enjoy!

Serves 2 (could easily be doubled or tripled)

Entry filed under: Chicken & Poultry, Gluten Free, Main Dish, Refined Sugar Free. Tags: , , , , , .

Homemade Almond Butter and Accidental Caramel-ish Dip Crunchy Superfood Buckwheat Granola

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Charissa  |  July 25, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    This is such a clean meal…I`m really trying to work super hard on making ALL of my meals more clean. This looks like a winner!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 986 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

