Gluten Free Sandwich Bread with Timtana

July 5, 2011 at 11:24 pm 8 comments

Until recently, I had never attempted gluten free loaf bread from scratch. I guess it was the intimidation factor that made me shy away from it in the past. Previously, I had only made bread using prepackaged mixes, which all turned out fine, but I felt like I was cheating a bit. My humble little blog gave me that extra push that I needed as I didn’t think it would be complete without homemade bread🙂

My mother-in-law was extremely thoughtful and sent me a new gluten free flour that I hadn’t heard of before – Timtana flour (a huge thank you!). It’s made from Timothy, a gluten grass seed that contains no gluten (yay!) and is milled in Montana. The flour is slightly sweet with nutty undertones and is said to be similar to wheat in both color and texture, making it an ideal flour for gluten free baked goods! If you’d like more detailed information or the history, check out their site.

Of course, I was extremely excited to start experimenting with these new-found flour! For my initial test, I really wanted to make a homemade loaf bread. I based the recipe off this gluten free flax bread from All Recipes with many substitutions, and it turned wonderfully!  The whole house smelled amazing while this loaf was baking, I couldn’t wait to dig in! You can cut this bread in thin slices for sandwiches without any issues and although it doesn’t have the same texture as a bread with gluten, it has stayed moist and pliable the last two days without being refrigerated or frozen. I’ve made toast, sandwiches and eaten it fresh from the oven both plain and slathered with peanut butter – I think I’m hooked!

This may seem like a long list of ingredients but don’t be scared, it’s not hard to make at all! Plus it’s a whole grain and healthy bread that is slightly sweetened with honey and doesn’t contain a whole bunch of white flours🙂

Gluten Free Sandwich Bread with Timtana Flour (adapted from this GF Flax Bread)

Ingredients

3/4 cup Timtana flour (you can sub your favorite gluten free flour if desired)
1/2 cup sorghum flour (you can sub your favorite gluten free flour if desired)
1/2 cup buckwheat flour (could sub potato starch)
1/4 cup oat flour (could sub garfava flour)
1/4 cup flaxseed meal
1/4 cup cornstarch
2 1/2 tsp guar gum (You could probably sub xanthum gum)
2 tsp active dry yeast
1 tsp salt
2 eggs* (see recipe notes for vegan option)
2 egg whites*
1 cup water
2 tsp vinegar
2 Tbsp coconut oil in liquid state (or vegetable oil)
1 1/2 Tbsp honey

Directions

1. In a large mixing bowl, add all flours, flax, cornstarch, gum, yeast and salt, then whisk to combine.
2. In a mixer (I used bread attachment), combine wet ingredients until well mixed.
3. Add dry ingredients to wet, and mix on medium for 4-5 minutes, scraping the sides occasionally.
4. Line a 9×5 loaf pan with parchment and add batter. Let sit and rise for 80-85 minutes in a turned off oven (important, don’t heat oven yet!)
5. Remove pan from oven and preheat to 350F. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until golden brown and cooked through.
6. Remove pan from oven and remove bread from pan. Let cool and slice and enjoy!

*Recipe Notes: According to the original recipe, you can use egg replacer of choice to create a vegan loaf, as well as an alternative sweetener such as agave for the honey. I haven’t tried this myself though.

Before baking, I brushed the top of the loaf lightly with oil and sprinkled whole flaxseed, this is optional but would also be good with sunflower seeds or sesame if you want the extra texture. Happy Noshing!

Entry filed under: Breads, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Vegan. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Red White and Blue Fruit Popsicles Rosemary Apple Chicken Salad

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leanne @ Healthful Pursuit  |  July 6, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Wow, I’ve never heard of timtana… thanks for passing along the info! Since I don’t have any around, maybe I could use teff flour?

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  July 6, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      I actually haven’t experimented much with teff, maybe you could try 1/2 teff and 1/2 buckwheat? I know buckwheat can be subbed for Timtana but you will have to let me know how it turns out!🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Rosemary Apple Chicken Salad « Natural Noshing  |  July 6, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    […] eaten two shares of this salad – served as lettuce wraps as well as slathered on my newly baked sandwich bread with Timtana- and both […]

    Reply
  • 4. Gary Iverson  |  September 23, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Thank you for your nice message regarding Timtana Flour. Timtana is a very special flour bringing nutrition, 17% fiber and 17% protein and tasted to gluten free bread. You might also want to try our Toasted Oat Flour, 12% fiber and 20% protein. We also have bread and pastry mixes based on these two amazing flours. Check us out at http://www.montanaglutenfree.com we will be in a store near you soon.

    Reply
    • 5. naturalnoshing  |  September 23, 2011 at 4:17 pm

      I have a bread mix I bought from you too that I need to try! I love the nutty flavor, and of course the nutrition stats : )

      Reply
  • […] Natural almond or peanut butter – paired with a gluten free whole grain tortilla or gluten free bread.  Two tablespoons of natural nut butter provide 8-10 grams of complete protein and plenty of […]

    Reply
  • 7. Cara  |  February 6, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Waiting for my bag of flour now…

    Reply
    • 8. naturalnoshing  |  February 7, 2012 at 12:47 pm

      It’s already opened but I am seriously willing to share🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

