Tuna Salad with a Crunch

May 16, 2011 at 3:23 pm 5 comments

I’ve been craving the tuna salad from a a little cafe and bakery up in Silverthorne, CO called Blue Moon Bakery. They don’t have gluten-free bread (some GF goodies though), but their tuna salad wrapped in crispy romaine lettuce with a big slice of tomato makes me forget the bread entirely. Their tuna salad includes toasted sunflower seeds and crunchy celery that makes a satisfying protein-filled lunch that keeps you full for hours.

It’s not exactly a quick lunch to drive all the way up the mountain so I decided to make my own version for a fast fix. I don’t know about you, but I love tuna salad with a little texture, not the mushy stuff you can get pre-made. My twist includes one of my recent favorite raw veggies, jicama (stay with me…) along with the more traditional celery and carrots. Serve a couple scoops over a bed of greens or spread some on your favorite sandwich bread or crackers. In fact, these would be good served with my Grain-Free Seed Crackers!

Protein-packed lunch or snack with a crunch!

Tuna Salad with a Crunch

Ingredients:

1 6 oz. can of tuna, in water (I prefer Polar’s chunk light)
1 stalk of celery, chopped
1 small carrot, chopped
1 or 2 green onions, chopped
1 small slice of jicama, chopped
1 1/2 tsp of raw or roasted sunflower seeds (pepitas would also be good)
2-3 Tbsp Vegenaise to taste (or mayo, if preferred)*
Pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Mix all ingredients in a small mixing bowl and enjoy!

Makes one large serving or 2 small servings.

*I love the taste of Vegenaise but mayo or a low fat mayo would work equally as well. I don’t like extra creamy tuna salad but include enough to hold everything together nicely, adjust to taste.

Recipe Notes: If you prefer smaller chunks, finely chop the celery, carrot, jicama and green onion.

Entry filed under: Gluten Free, Lunch, Refined Sugar Free, Soups and Salads. Tags: , , .

Grain-Free Seed Crackers Ricotta Cheesecake Parfaits

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  May 16, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    You are making me so hungry! I know now not to read your posts unless I want to work up an appetite!

    Reply
  • 2. Charissa  |  May 19, 2011 at 8:57 am

    Oh yes! I’m having this as a lunch veeeery soon! Thanks for sharing, because it made me happy!🙂

    Reply
    • 3. naturalnoshing  |  May 19, 2011 at 9:01 am

      Enjoy!🙂 thank you, your comment made ME happy!

      Reply
  • 4. Tuna Recipes  |  March 25, 2012 at 7:04 am

    Very nice dish!!! keep them coming! i already prepared this 3 times!

    http://www.etunarecipes.com you find more recipes with tuna

    Reply
    • 5. naturalnoshing  |  March 25, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      Thanks so much!🙂 I’m happy to hear you loved this too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,000 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

