Green Almond Oat Smoothie

May 12, 2011 at 9:38 pm 3 comments

Exciting – my first post! I am not sure what direction this blog is going to take me but I wanted a place to post my ideas, recipes, thoughts and life. I love to talk about food, cook and bake food and photograph food…so here I am breaking into the blogging world hoping someone will embrace what I have to say.

Now this “recipe” might not be the ideal way for some to start one’s blog off with BUT it captures exactly what this blog is about – natural and real food. Plus, it just happened to be my breakfast this morning. Bear with me as I try and remember to snap photos of my nosh before digging in.

It’s a not-so-warm Saturday here in Denver, and I typically go on a “long run” most Saturday mornings but I decided to cut it shorter than usual since I was so pumped about working on my new blog! Having run 6 miles this morning I needed a quick, recovery breakfast…starting with:

Green Almond Oat Smoothie

Green goodness to start out the day!

Ingredients

1 banana
1 cup baby spinach (or a handful)
1 cup  of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/3 cup of GF rolled oats
1 tsp ground flax
1 tsp chia seeds (plus more for sprinkling!)
sprinkle of ground cinnamon
crushed ice

Directions

Add all ingredients except extra chia seeds for topping in a blender. Blend baby, blend!
Pour in a glass and top with extra chia seeds, if desired.

I also had two scrambled eggs for breakfast with feta cheese, yum!

*I use the Cuisinart SmartPower Blending/Chopping System or the Magic Bullet for quick and easy serving!

Entry filed under: Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Smoothies & Beverages, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , .

Grain-Free Seed Crackers

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 986 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

