Carrot Cake Crunch Bowl

November 17, 2012 at 8:42 am 3 comments

I’ve been loving on my “crunch bowls” or “dessert soups” for snacks or breakfasts. It’s more satiating and longer-lasting than a bowl of cereal with all the texture and flavor that I crave.

Lately I’ve been in the mood for carrot cake and warm spices so when I was short on time and had an abundance of baby carrots, I knew just how to use up a few. Too lazy to pull out the juicer (and clean it), I opted for a speedy blender bowl with a carrot cake-inspired recipe!

Side note: I had good intentions when I bought a juicer but I have yet to use it since the first few times I’ve pulled it out. I have a weakness for kitchen gadgets but ones that require a bit of cleaning have been set to the side with my schedule these days…excuses, excuses :) My speedy blender came to the rescue, again!

If you aren’t keen on slurping this “dessert soup” from a bowl, sip this from a glass in smoothie form :)

Carrot Cake Crunch Bowl (inspired by my Recovery Crunch Cereal Bowl)

Ingredients

6-7 baby carrots, chopped
1/2 cup plain coconut milk yogurt (can use cottage cheese, tofu or other yogurt for variations)
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk  (or other non-dairy milk)
1/4 cup fresh or frozen pineapple (can omit
1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, optional
splash of pure vanilla extract
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon (or more to taste)
1/8 tsp ground ginger
1 medjool date or drizzle of honey or agave (do not use honey if vegan)
4-5 ice cubes

For serving
2 Tbsp raw buckwheat groats (granola can be subbed)
1 -2 Tbsp chopped pecans, walnuts or almonds (or a combo)
1 -2 Tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes (or shredded coconut)

Directions

1. In a blender, combine carrots through ice and blend until smooth, about 1 minute.
2. Pour into a bowl, top with buckwheat groats, nuts and coconut flakes and enjoy!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Smoothies & Beverages, Vegan, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Sausage, Kale and Squash Soup Chicken Florentine Meatballs (SRC)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  November 17, 2012 at 9:40 am

    I can see myself getting into this for breakfast once the weather warms up a bit, which, in SF, will probably be next week!

    Reply
  • 2. Becca  |  December 5, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    I made a version of this adding molasses instead of pineapple. It’s great to be able to eat ‘carrot cake’ mid-afternoon as a snack and feel great about it. Thanks for this creative snack/breakfast idea!

    Reply
    • 3. Becca  |  December 5, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      Note: I only added 2 teaspoons of molasses instead of the 1/4 cup pineapple. This made it takes more like pumpkin pie to me than carrot cake, but that was fine with me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 922 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

