Celery Root Fries

May 26, 2012 at 6:52 am 5 comments

We made it to the weekend!

What goes along with burgers? Fries of course! I made a batch of my Kitchen Sink Veggie Burgers last night and tried out a new veggie — celery root or celeriac…and in the form of fries :)

These were a healthy substitute for the fried potato version though they will not satisfy your craving for the original if that’s what you are after. I thought I should throw that out there in case you are looking for the real deal…

Baked veggie fries are a yummy stand-in when you want a lighter side dish. If you are looking for a healthy snack or simply a recipe to branch out and be adventurous, this may be a good start :)

Celery root has a mild celery taste that is slightly detectable in this recipe. These fries are best served right from the oven to maintain their slight crispiness…with or without ketchup or mustard, I suggest you give them a go!

I followed Kelly’s easy recipe for these fries at The Spunky Coconut, hope on over to her post for the recipe!

I will be purchasing another celery root again for additional experimentation…I hear pureeing this veggie in soup is scrumptious or even making a hash with veggies for a side or main dish. The wheels are turning…

Entry filed under: Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks, Vegan. Tags: , , , , , , .

Kitchen Sink Veggie Burgers + Grain-Free Flax Bun Salted Millionaire’s Shortbread Bars (Secret Recipe Club)

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin @ Texanerin Baking  |  May 26, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    I’ve used celery root in soup before. I don’t eat soup so I don’t know how it was but the others liked it! This looks adventurous. So these don’t taste like the real French fries, but do they taste like vegetables? It’s a very important question. A slight celery taste doesn’t sound too bad. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Shira  |  May 26, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    What a super creative idea Nora! they look great, and I am a major fan of celery root :) So cool and I love the photos!

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica  |  May 26, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    I added some to a bunch of my soups this winter! It was really tasty. It’s also good in pancakes, like a cauliflower or potato pancake.

    Reply
  • 4. Genevieve  |  May 29, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    I’ve never tried celery root, but if I did have one around, I would definitely want to make these fries with it! I like how a vegetable that’s pretty ugly on the outside turned into such cool looking fries!

    Reply
    • 5. naturalnoshing  |  May 30, 2012 at 1:01 pm

      It’s definitely a funky vegetable – it’s an ugly duckling on the outside but it’s very versatile too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 975 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

