Blueberry Hemp Snack Bars

April 29, 2012 at 11:57 am 7 comments

I am learning a lot about myself, not to mention how to “deal with” and manage people from running our yogurt store and starting a new business. While managing (mostly) high school kids has proven to be a big challenge, it also brings about growth….and who couldn’t use a little stretching?

Thank goodness for the weekend though! It’s been a week of emotional ups and downs at work and I am ready a rest day to recharge.

Experimenting in the kitchen, particularly with baking, is a stress relief for me so you know where I was headed after a long week! These blueberry bars are made with oat flour, along with a bit of protein powder, juicy blueberries and earthy hemp seeds. While I planned on making buckwheat bars, I’ve been eating buckwheat like crazy and ran out so oat flour was next in line :)

These bars are a great snack, breakfast or a light dessert. Feel free to substitute the blueberries for your favorite berry or fruit. If hemp seeds aren’t your thing, add in chopped nuts, seeds or even chocolate chips!

Blueberry Hemp Snack Bars

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup oat flour (I grind my own using gluten free oats – buckwheat would probably work)
2 scoops of vanilla protein powder (about 65 grams)
2 Tbsp flaxseed meal
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup coconut palm sugar or date sugar (or other granulated sweetener)
1/8 tsp sea salt
2 eggs, whisked
2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
3 Tbsp hemp seeds (if you don’t like the earthy taste of hemp, feel free to substutite 1/3  cup your favorite seeds or chopped nuts)
3/4 cup blueberries (frozen or fresh- blackberries, cherries, raspberries or a combo can be substituted)

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350F and line a 8×8 pan or large loaf pan with parchment paper (or grease well). Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients (flour through salt).
3. Stir in the eggs and applesauce just until combined them fold in the hemp seeds and berries.
4. Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 14-16 minutes or until just firm on top and a toothpick comes clean.

*Due to the protein powder, be careful not to over bake or it will cause the bars to be dry! Depending on the size pan used, you may have to adjust the baking time. Mine were done right at 15 minutes in my little toaster oven.

Here’s to a restful rest of the weekend and a fresh start to the week!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dessert, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Flourless Tangelo Cake aka “The Fruit Loop Cake” Poached Hake in Thai Coconut Sauce (Secret Recipe Club)

7 Comments Add your own

  • [...] I've been eating buckwheat like crazy and ran out so oat …View the Original post here: Blueberry Hemp Snack Bars « Natural Noshing 404 Not FoundNot FoundThe requested URL /link_files/TZH6Y4HF53C539H8JTPR-10755.hwe was not found on [...]

    Reply
  • 2. Erin @ Texanerin Baking  |  April 29, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Yummy! I’d go with white chocolate chocolate chips. I don’t care that it’s not real chocolate… it’s delicious. :)

    I know what you mean about managing high school students! I was a sub for one year after I graduated from college and although I was 24, the students thought I was much younger and that this meant that they could get away with anything. Not very fun. I decided to work with the younger ones after a few days with teenagers. I guess you can’t really do that… have a bunch of 3rd graders work for you, although that’d be fun to see. :D

    Reply
  • 3. spabettie  |  April 29, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    when I was running the deli, I hired quite a few college age kids… they loved the “mindless” work, short shifts, and they actually needed a job so they were pretty responsible / accountable. I remember when I was in high school… ;)

    these bars sound delicious right now – we have just finished another day of packing, and are back at the new house. I’d LOVE to bake something this evening…

    Reply
  • 4. healthfulpursuit  |  April 29, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Wow, I had no idea you had your own business, how awesome! Just checked out all the pictures, so neat. Good for you!

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah Jane @ The Fit Cookie  |  April 30, 2012 at 6:01 am

    These look great! I think I will try this recipe this week : )

    Reply
  • 7. Heather  |  May 1, 2012 at 11:14 am

    Mmmm i love everything about these – blueberries are one of my favorite fruits to bake with, i love the addition of protien powder- i have never thought to bake with it before, very inspiring!

    Congratulations on your little store- I LOVE the ambiance and the “moose droppings” – super cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 972 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

