Brussel Sprout, Yam N’ Chicken Skillet

March 24, 2012 at 6:31 am 5 comments

This recipe might just be my new favorite one-dish meal…it’s a different combination but I am in love. Notes of salty, sweet, tangy and slightly spicy (from the ginger), I threw this skillet dinner together without knowing what I was initially cooking.

It morphed into a delicious and filling meal that I’m still craving! All I knew was that I wanted chicken, I needed to use brussel sprouts and a yam that were both on the verge of going bad and I wanted something with ginger…and here is the result:

It’s not the prettiest dish I’ve ever made but I still had to post it. Chris thanked me for being spontaneous and for creating a meal that was “light, fresh and flavorful”. I had my full serving while Chris ate his with a side of cooked rice so I had enough to photograph the next day for this post. This made me double happy – photo + that meant I had leftovers for lunch :)

Brown Mustard Brussel Sprout, Yam and Chicken Skillet

Ingredients

1 medium yam or sweet potato (I used a white yam), diced – skin on or removed
2 chicken breasts, cubed into 1 inch pieces (I used 6 oz each)
4 1/2 tsp olive oil, butter or coconut oil, divided
1 tsp brown mustard seeds
1 inch fresh ginger, grated or minced (could sub 3/4 tsp dried but I prefer fresh)
3 tsp dried onion flakes (I was out of onion) OR 1/2 small onion, diced
1 small red bell pepper, chopped
13-15 medium size brussel sprouts, cut into 1/3
1/2 Tbsp honey, agave or a pinch of pure stevia
salt and pepper to taste
2-3 tsp apple cider vinegar (I suppose fresh lemon juice would work here too)

Directions

1. In a medium pot, add yam/sweet potato and cover with water. Season water with a generous pinch of salt and bring water to a boil. Cook potatoes until fork-tender, about 5-8 minutes (depending on the size of your potatoes). Drain and set aside.
2. In a skillet, heat 2 1/2 tsp oil/butter over medium-high heat. Season chicken cubes with salt and pepper (to your liking) and add to skillet along with the mustard seeds, ginger and onion/flakes. Cook until chicken is cooked through, stirring often, about 6-7 minutes. Remove chicken from skillet and keep warm.
3. Heat remaining oil/butter in skillet (2 tsp). Add brussel sprouts and bell peppers and cook for a few minutes (I like for the outsides to brown slightly). Reduce heat to medium-low and add about 2 tablespoons of water to the skillet. Cover and let cook until sprouts are tender, about 6-7 minutes.
4. Uncover and add potatoes and chicken mixture back to the skillet. Drizzle with honey and toss to coat. Let cook for a few minutes until heated through and add the apple cider vinegar to the skillet and let cook for an additional 30 seconds. Remove from heat and enjoy!

*Recipe Notes: For a veggie-friendly dish, eliminate the chicken and increase the potatoes to 2 large and saute the boiled potatoes in the oil, mustard seeds, ginger and onions  and proceed to step 3.

Entry filed under: Chicken & Poultry, Gluten Free, Main Dish, Refined Sugar Free. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Tropical Berry Energy Bites Italian Breakfast Pizza

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toxicity-2-Purity  |  March 25, 2012 at 9:07 am

    Thank you, my friends and I were just discussing what to do with sweet potatoes (yams), and I love brussel sprouts!!

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  March 25, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      Happy to help :) I hope you enjoy the dish as much as we did! I love brussel sprouts too, they remind me of mini cabbage haha

      Reply
  • 3. cravingsgoneclean  |  March 25, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Me, you and Sonia were all on the same wavelength! Funny how these things happen. I like your use of ginger–I think I’ll throw some in my hash next time :)

    Reply
  • 4. Toxicity-2-Purity  |  March 31, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    thank you so much for posting this. I have made my own variations of this recipe a couple of times now, omitting the chicken. Looking back tonight on it, I wish I would have remembered the ginger and onion, but it still taste very yummy!!

    Reply
    • 5. naturalnoshing  |  April 2, 2012 at 2:25 pm

      The chicken is definitely not a necessity! I’d say the onion and ginger add a really nice dimension to the dish – but I love onions in everything and same goes for ginger :) glad you enjoyed it, thanks for your comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 949 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

