Green Goddess Shake

March 15, 2012 at 6:51 am 4 comments

Continuing on with the “green theme” for St. Patty’s Day, I have a creamy drink packed with nutrition and protein to jumpstart your morning!

We have been buying loads of kiwi for our yogurt store’s topping bar, which got me thinking about buying a few for my own personal use at at home. For some reason, I had forgotten about this little fruit. I always think of berries, apples and bananas when I am standing in the fruit section of the grocery store but lately I’ve had kiwi on the brain :)

Since I enjoyed using applesauce in my apple pie cheesecake smoothie so much, I decided to go the dairy-free route with this quick and easy shake that hit the spot when I was running short on time! Smoothies are one of the only things I’ve actually been making on a regular basis with the craziness of our recent schedules…at least I know I am getting some good nutrition at the start of my day before heading out to work.

Green Goddess Shake 

Ingredients

1/2 ripe avocado, halved and pit removed (could use a whole avocado for a creamier drink, but I only had 1/2 left in the fridge)
1 cup unsweetened applesauce (or 2 small apples, peel on)
1 kiwi, skin removed
1-2 scoops of protein powder (I used unsweetened vanilla rice protein)
2/3 cup mango (or pineapple would work here too) – (I used frozen mango chunks)
2 tsp chia seeds, optional
1 handful of greens (I used baby spinach)
1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used hemp)

Directions

1. Add ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth, about one minute. Divide into two glasses and enjoy!

Serves 2

This photo is for you Sonia…a huge bowl full of frozen yogurt and part of our blooper reel from our commercial shoot for the store…blueberry frozen yogurt topped with every crazy topping imaginable…don’t worry, I don’t eat this way on a daily basis :)

Entry filed under: Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks, Smoothies & Beverages. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Savory Seeds N’ Green Crackers Green Tea “Pound Cake” with Cashew Cream Drizzle

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cara  |  March 15, 2012 at 9:36 am

    I WANT TO SEE YOUR COMMERCIAL!!!! When it comes out, send me the link because you are adorable and I miss your face :) I will just drink my goddess shake and wait…

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  March 23, 2012 at 9:26 am

      I will definitely pass along the link when they send it to me!!! I miss YOUR face too :) And it’s not the most attractive of me and Chris….ummm does the camera add 10 pounds? HAHAHA Hopefully they will send it soon!

      Reply
  • 3. Sonia, The Healthy Foodie  |  March 16, 2012 at 7:53 am

    LOL! Thank you so much Nora, that’s got to be the cutest picture ever! You are just plain adorable on it! And omg, does that look like a yummy million calorie treat right there! Hopefully, you didn’t have to eat the entire thing… ;)

    So you’re shooting a commercial? How awesome is that! Please tell me that we will get to see it! Looks like things are really happening big time for you my friend! So happy for you. So extremely happy! :D

    Oh, and I really love the idea of using kiwi in a smoothie. This is one variety that I have yet to try. For some reason, I’d never even thought of it. Looks delicious! Definitely taking a mental note to try it in the near future. Thanks for inspiring me, once again! :)

    Reply
    • 4. naturalnoshing  |  March 23, 2012 at 9:11 am

      I am glad you like the photo Sonia :) I was hoping you saw it! I had a portion and let the hubby finish the rest off…I would have liked to finish it off but it was HUGE and a little on the decadent side (ha, a little right?).
      I am waiting on the link to the commercial so I can upload it to the frozen moose website and facebook page – I will let you know once I do! :)
      Thank you SO much for all your sweet comments and support – you are wonderful!
      And I think you can come up with fun ways to use kiwi in a smoothie – the texture is really fun! I just love this little kiwi seeds hehehe!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 939 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

