Smokey Tomato and Shrimp Stew

January 31, 2012 at 6:30 am 6 comments

You could say this meal is a happy accident. I started this dish with the intention making jambalaya…then I wasn’t happy with the flavor combination and it morphed into a comforting soup that hit the spot for these long winter nights we’ve been having. I immediately scribbled down all of the ingredients because I will be making this one again soon!

Smoked paprika, green lentils, diced tomatoes, celery and bell pepper and chicken stock make up the base of this recipe. I threw in two sliced links of chicken sausage (andouille would have been delicious but I didn’t have that on hand) and shrimp for added protein and bulk. I am picky about rice in soups but the addition of 1 to 2 cups of cooked brown rice could also be added or served on the side for an even heartier meal.

Smokey Tomato and Shrimp Stew

Ingredients

3 stalks celery, chopped
1 onion, diced
1/2 green bell pepper, diced
1 Tbsp oil, butter, ghee (butter/ghee lends a richer flavor)
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 bay leaf
1 tsp cajun seasoning
1/2 tsp smoked paprika
1 cup cooked green lentils
2 links of cooked chicken sausage, sliced
26 oz boxed diced tomatoes (I used Pomi brand), canned works too
2 cups chicken broth (I used homemade chicken stock)
20- 24 cooked shrimp (50-70 count)
1 1/2 Tbsp Bragg’s liquid aminos, tamari or gluten free soy sauce
salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1. In a Dutch oven or a large soup pot, heat oil/butter over medium heat. Add celery, onion and bell pepper and cook for 5 minutes until onion is translucent, stirring occasionally.
2. Add garlic and seasonings and saute about 1 minute until fragrant.
3. Add lentils, sausage and tomatoes and cook for 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.
4. Stir in broth and let cook for 10 minutes until heated through.
5. Lastly, stir in the shrimp and Braggs until heated through, about 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve!

Recipe Notes: Leftovers were delicious after the flavors had more time to marry. Enjoy :)

Entry filed under: Gluten Free, Lunch, Main Dish, Refined Sugar Free, Seafood, Soups and Salads. Tags: , , , , , , .

Hummus Bread Hot Maple Cinnamon Oat Bran

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mechele  |  February 1, 2012 at 8:13 am

    I happened to have most of the ingredients so I made this for dinner last night. It was delicious! I used chicken andouille sausage and I added a cup of brown rice then threw the whole thing in the oven to bake, adding the shrimp in at the end. Thank you for your recipe!

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  February 1, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      I am so glad you enjoyed this Mechele! It was definitely a happy accident because the flavors really go well together :) Thank you for the feedback, I can’t wait to make this again with andouille!

      Reply
  • 3. cravingsgoneclean  |  February 2, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I love a good happy accident! It’s how some of the best recipes are born. I think I’ll be trying this soon, shrimp was on sale, so I’m good to go :)

    Reply
  • 4. alani  |  February 11, 2012 at 11:14 am

    this was FREAKING awesome! i didnt have any shrimp so i put muscles in it instead, and subbed the sausage (pescatarian) for more lentils. omg. you are wonderful!!

    Reply
    • 5. naturalnoshing  |  February 12, 2012 at 10:36 am

      Thank you! YOU are wonderful too! I always enjoy your sweet comments and I am SOOOO happy you enjoyed this recipe as much as me! :) I’ll have to try mussels in this next time and bump up the lentils – yum!

      Reply
  • 6. alani  |  February 11, 2012 at 11:21 am

    ******mussles!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 961 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

