Banana Split…for Breakfast?

August 17, 2011 at 2:06 pm 50 comments

Oh yes, it’s possible!

I am on a breakfast roll these days! Although I’ve always been a breakfast eater, lately I’ve been really excited about switching things up and listening to what my body is craving. This morning I had a banana split…but “healthified”…and it didn’t include ice cream…sorry to disappoint some of you :)

I used cottage cheese for the “ice cream” since it scoops up nicely (in comparison to yogurt) but if you aren’t a fan of cottage cheese, use plain Greek yogurt for that protein punch! I’ve topped the “split” with all-fruit preserves for extra sweetness and added ground flax, chia seeds and chopped nuts for some extra fiber and crunch. Feel free to make this your own by switching up the ingredients and/or adding toppings to your liking (ideas below). Don’t think this dish has to be reserved for breakfast, it makes a healthy snack as well!

According to lifespan.org, this is how you build a balanced breakfast:

They recommend that breakfast should provide at least one quarter of the calories you need for the entire day. Most nutritionists agree that a good breakfast contains the following ingredients:

  • At least one serving of  fiber
  • At least one fruit and/or vegetable
  • Milk or another source of calcium
  • Protein, i.e., from meat, cheese or eggs

I think my banana split fits the bill – you get fiber from the ground flaxseed, chia and chopped nuts, there are several fruits involved (nana + berries), and dairy and protein from the cottage cheese. I think we have a winner!

Breakfast Banana Split 

Ingredients

1 banana, cut in half lengthwise
1/2 cup to 2/3 cup cottage cheese (I used 2% but any will do)
1 -2 Tbsp all-fruit preserves (I used mixed berry)
1 tsp ground flaxseed
1 tsp chia seed
1 – 2 Tbsp chopped walnuts (but almonds, peanuts, pecans would all be yummy too!)

Other options: add nut or seed butter or in place of the preserves, shredded coconut, coconut butter, replace cottage cheese with high-protein Greek yogurt, sprinkle with cinnamon, raisins, other fresh fruit, goji berries etc!

Directions

1. Place two banana halves in serving dish or bowl. Add scoops of cottage cheese on top of banana. Drizzle with fruit preserves (if you want it to look pretty and have more of a drizzle consistency, add a small amount of hot water but this is just for aesthetics) and garnish with flax, chia and chopped nuts. Enjoy!

This recipe is featured at Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays at Amy’s Simply Sugar and Gluten Free blog this week!

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Main Dish, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks, Vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , .

Cinnamon-Apple Breakfast Bake Pineapple-Upside Down Cake for One

50 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Food Lover in Texas  |  August 17, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    This looks scrumptious!!! Could you substitute ricotta cheese for the cottage cheese?

    Reply
    • 2. naturalnoshing  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      Thanks, it tasted yummy too! The substitution would change the flavor slightly but I think you could if you prefer the taste of ricotta :)

      Reply
  • 3. Sonia The Healthy Foodie  |  August 17, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    OK, YUM! I could just imagine my cherry sauce over that, a couple of peanuts and some carob chips. Oh, my, this is what I want for breakfast tomorrow…

    Reply
    • 4. naturalnoshing  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      Peanuts, chocolate/carob and bananas are already an amazing combo in my book – add some cherry sauce and it would be REALLY yummy! I was actually in the mood for peanuts yesterday but I had already eaten them up :) I’ll give your combo a go sometime!

      Reply
  • 5. Lauren @ Recipes for a Quarterlife  |  August 17, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    I am making this tomorrow! Breakfast can get SO boring when it’s healthy, but you just made it 10000000times more interesting. Thanks!!

    Reply
    • 6. naturalnoshing  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Glad I could help, Lauren! I hope you enjoy it! : )

      Reply
  • 7. Jean  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    Yum! What a fabulous breakfast / snack idea! I think I’ll try mine drizzled with honey and add some fresh berries in place of the fruit preserves.

    Reply
    • 8. naturalnoshing  |  August 18, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      Thanks Jean! Fresh berries and honey would be wonderful!

      Reply
  • 9. Elizabeth  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    I’m always looking for more ways to use my chia seeds! This looks awesome!

    Reply
    • 10. naturalnoshing  |  August 18, 2011 at 3:43 pm

      I LOVE chia seeds! I could eat them in almost anything, and I find them so fascinating! Are you a fan of chia pudding?

      Reply
  • 11. Jess @ littlegirlbigappetite  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    Awesome idea!!! Love new creative ideas for breakfast! Love your blog, glad to be a new follower :)

    Reply
    • 12. naturalnoshing  |  August 18, 2011 at 3:42 pm

      Thanks Jess and thanks for stopping by my blog! :) Always nice to meet a fellow blogger! I need to try your Banana Caramel Overnight Oats – they sound and looks amazing!

      Reply
  • 13. toritakesabite  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Came across your site while blog surfing, absolutely love this idea! I’m always looking for healthy yet satisfying bfast ideas.

    Reply
    • 14. naturalnoshing  |  August 18, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      Thanks for checking out my blog! I need to try out your “Yong Tau Fu” – I’m always looking for new ways to eat tofu :)

      Reply
  • 15. Charissa  |  August 18, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    What a brilliant idea! I’m sure I’ll be trying something similar thanks to your inspiration! So ultra, ultra fun!

    Reply
  • 16. Meg's Everyday Indulgence  |  August 18, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Oh my, this sounds great and it’s so creative! I think I will try it with yogurt…my little guy would love this!

    Reply
    • 17. naturalnoshing  |  August 19, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      Thanks Meg! I especially think kiddos would like this idea but it’s yummy enough for us grown-ups too! :)

      Reply
  • 18. kathleen  |  August 18, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    This is awesome. What a good idea! I have some natural yoghurt and cranberries which are looking like this weekend’s breakfast topping now!!

    Thanks :)

    Reply
    • 19. naturalnoshing  |  August 19, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      Yogurt and cranberries sound like great toppings! Enjoy Kathleen! :)

      Reply
  • 20. Kelley  |  August 18, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    What a cute presentation! I guess I need to try some chia seed, this is the third time I’ve seen this in a recipe this week!

    Reply
    • 21. naturalnoshing  |  August 19, 2011 at 12:49 pm

      Thanks Kelly! Chia is one of my favorite ingredients – it’s a funny little seed and I highly recommend you giving it a try! :)

      Reply
  • 22. Tres Delicious  |  August 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Breakfast will never be the same again. It looks to me like that once I try it one of this days. This is simply fantastic!

    Reply
    • 23. naturalnoshing  |  August 19, 2011 at 12:48 pm

      Thank you! It’s always fun to bring creativity to a meal :)

      Reply
  • 24. Meghan  |  August 19, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Yummy!! What a neat idea. I’ll have to try this some day with Greek Yogurt. Maybe it will somewhat satisy my eternal craving for a Banana Split which I haven’t had in over ten years!

    Reply
    • 25. naturalnoshing  |  August 19, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      Greek yogurt would be great in this! Maybe you can trick your mind and tummy into thinking it’s the real thing? :)
      You could always try making low cal almond milk ice cream or protein ice cream with a faux chocolate sauce if it’s doesn’t do the trick!

      Reply
  • 26. Nicole@eatdrawlive  |  August 19, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Hi Nora,
    I just love your website and recipes! This one sounds perfect for me since I love all those ingredients. Keep them coming…

    Reply
    • 27. naturalnoshing  |  August 20, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Thanks Nicole! Your “cleansing salad” looks SO good, and your photo is beautiful!!

      Reply
  • 28. sensitiveeconomist  |  August 23, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    What a wonderful recipe! And the pictures look fabulous! I look forward to making this myself. Have a wonderful day.

    Reply
  • 30. Banana Split for Breakfast « Mom Makes…  |  August 29, 2011 at 6:05 am

    [...] Banana Split for Breakfast – adapted from Naturally Ella [...]

    Reply
  • [...] you enjoyed the creativity with my breakfast banana splits, I think you’ll like today’s post about sweet breakfast quesadillas! I’m sure [...]

    Reply
  • 32. Up for the (7 Links) Challenge « Natural Noshing  |  September 13, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    [...] else enjoy re-purposing leftovers? 5. Post Whose Success Surprised You I’d have to say my Breakfast Banana Split. To my surprise and great honor, the recipe was featured online at Glamour. Although it includes [...]

    Reply
  • [...] •    Organic cottage cheese – mixed with fresh chopped pineapple, strawberries, apples, or tomatoes is a perfect start to your day. Cottage cheese is also delicious in a quick and easy breakfast banana split! [...]

    Reply
  • [...] 6. Banana Split for Breakfast [...]

    Reply
  • 35. 8 Ways to Indulge in a Banana Split | Family Kitchen  |  January 25, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    [...] Photo Above: A Breakfast Banana Split by Natural Noshing. [...]

    Reply
  • 36. Kammie  |  March 18, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    This is the coolest ever. It really looks like banana split. I will most definitely make this asap and link to this post once I do :)

    Reply
    • 37. naturalnoshing  |  March 23, 2012 at 8:45 am

      Thank you so much Kammie! It’s tastes yummy too :) Hope you enjoy it!

      Reply
  • 38. Healthy Banana Split | Sensual Appeal  |  March 25, 2012 at 11:53 am

    [...] [Adapted from Natural Noshing] [...]

    Reply
  • 39. Kammie  |  March 25, 2012 at 11:53 am

    I made this today for breakfast. So delicious. Here’s how it turned out for me (I changed it up a smidgen):

    http://sensualappeal.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/healthy-banana-split/

    Reply
  • 42. On the Menu: July 2012 » The Cheapskate Cook  |  July 2, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    [...] Healthy Banana Split [...]

    Reply
  • 43. Menu Plan - July 9 | Wholesome Womanhood  |  July 9, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    [...] Breakfast – Breakfast Banana Split Lunch – Blackberry Pork Chops (from the freezer) Dinner – [...]

    Reply
  • 44. lahealthyliving  |  July 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    love it!

    Reply
  • 45. On the Menu: August 2012 » The Cheapskate Cook  |  August 6, 2012 at 7:04 am

    [...] Healthy Banana Split 4x [...]

    Reply
  • 46. The Cheapskate Shopping Bag: $116 » The Cheapskate Cook  |  August 9, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    [...] that they marked down for me) – $.44/lb. (using these for smoothies, No-Cook Oatmeal, Healthy Banana Splits, Peanut Butter Banana Shakes, and [...]

    Reply
  • 48. Healthy Banana Split | Sensual AppealSensual Appeal  |  May 17, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    […] [Adapted from Natural Noshing] […]

    Reply
  • 49. 25 Healthy Summer Breakfasts  |  June 3, 2013 at 11:55 am

    […] Healthy Breakfast Banana Split from Natural Noshing […]

    Reply
  • 50. 15 Light Breakfast That Makes You Feel Great  |  January 17, 2014 at 7:12 am

    […] Recipe & Photo credit to naturalnoshing.wordpress.com […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 939 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

