Banana Buddy Shake

June 3, 2011 at 3:25 pm 26 comments

Growing up my mom made my brother and I what she called the “Banana Buddy Shake” - the perfect blend of banana, milk and peanut butter to create a healthy and satisfying treat that we’d swoon over. Her infamous Banana Buddy Shake was featured in her handmade children’s cookbook called Mister Cookie Breakfast Cookbook that was published a while back (go check it out)! She even did cooking demonstrations at my elementary school growing up teaching my fellow classmates about healthy snacks and breakfast — such good memories!

I was craving peanut butter and banana the other day, and I thought back to the Banana Buddy shake…so this is my tribute and my own twist on my mom’s classic that is both simple and delicious. Try this shake for breakfast, a snack or a post-workout recovery drink – it’s not just for the kiddos!

Mom’s Banana Buddy Shake

Ingredients

1 ripe banana
1 cup of non-dairy milk (I used vanilla almond milk or rice milk but cow’s is fine too)
1 1/2 Tbsp unsalted peanut butter (any nut or seed butter will work here)
1/2 tsp gluten free vanilla extract
1/2 tsp ground flaxseed (optional but provides a good source of Omega-3s)
pinch of sea salt, optional but so yummy!
dash of cinnamon (plus more for sprinkling on top, if desired)
ice cubes

Directions

1. Place all ingredients in a blender and mix until combined. Pour into glass and enjoy!

Serves 1

Recipes Notes: You can make a chocolate version too by adding 1 Tbsp of cocoa powder. If it’s too bitter with the cocoa, add sweetener of choice to taste (honey, stevia, agave, etc).

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks, Smoothies & Beverages. Tags: , , , , , .

Chicken with Pepian Sauce 3-Ingredient Deviled Eggs

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. my little celebration  |  June 3, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Peanut butter and banana: one of my favorite combinations!

    Reply
  • 2. Casey  |  June 4, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Oh my gosh. This looks like a PERFECT summer treat!!

    Reply
    • 3. naturalnoshing  |  June 4, 2011 at 10:43 am

      Hi Casey! I love PB and banana – If you want something even more decadent, you can decrease the milk and add a scoop of ice cream (chocolate or vanilla or cinnamon) for an extra special treat! By the way, your mini apple pies look SO good and so pretty!! : )

      Reply
  • 4. Medifast Coupons  |  June 4, 2011 at 10:26 am

    Your banana shake is a bit different than mine, I have never put peanut butter into one, but sure why not, peanut butter and bananas are meant to be together, thanks!

    Reply
  • 5. mai  |  June 4, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    oh my! this looks so delicious! great photos too :)

    Reply
  • 6. Ambro Wright  |  June 6, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    This sounds great! I make a similar smoothie version of this by decreasing the milk and adding vanilla protein powder and ice. Such a great treat after a workout!

    Reply
    • 7. naturalnoshing  |  June 7, 2011 at 9:22 am

      I agree! I’ll bulk up my smoothies too with protein powder sometimes for an extra boost : )

      Reply
  • 8. Tabby Powell  |  June 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I have tried this 2 times since you posted this, I want it AGAIN! SOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOD!

    Reply
    • 9. naturalnoshing  |  June 15, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Yay! So glad you like it! :) thanks for the feedback!
      Hugs,
      Nora

      Reply
  • 10. Natalya Tirey  |  July 7, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Thanks for that clear directions and pictures. Now I have no excuse never to make one. The too much trademarking made me laugh out loud. Natalya Tirey

    Reply
  • 11. lambyknits01  |  September 2, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Bookmarked! I need to try this :)

    Reply
  • 12. Banana and Peanut Butter Breakfast Shake « Mom Makes…  |  September 7, 2011 at 8:16 am

    [...] 7 Sep Quick Post: Another morning, another healthy breakfast! I’m having fun experimenting with all these new breakfast recipes and here’s another one I found but I have modified slightly to make it more substantial with the addition of oats. Thanks for reading, enjoy! Banana and Peanut Butter Breakfast Shake – adapted from Natural Noshing [...]

    Reply
  • 13. Up for the (7 Links) Challenge « Natural Noshing  |  September 13, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    [...] Most Popular The post that has received the most hits is the Banana Buddy Shake – I gotta give props to my mom, this is just proof that mom’s definitely know what they [...]

    Reply
  • 14. Banana Recipes You’ll Go Ape for | Yummly  |  September 21, 2011 at 11:06 am

    [...] Banana Peanut Butter Shake (from Natural Noshing) [...]

    Reply
  • 15. Chelsea  |  October 14, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    LOVE THIS. great for after a long run!

    Reply
    • 16. naturalnoshing  |  October 15, 2011 at 10:39 am

      Thanks Chelsea! I love this after a workout – quick, easy and I can add a scoop of protein powder for a fast recovery meal!

      Reply
  • [...] milk instead.  I find that the peanut butter gives it’s twist.  You can find the recipe on Natural Noshing. This entry was posted in Indulging Mum and tagged banana, childrens, puddings, recipes, [...]

    Reply
  • 18. Jenny  |  October 17, 2011 at 8:53 am

    I feel like she had a cookbook too? Am I making that up? Bright yellow cover? This really does bring back memories!

    Reply
    • 19. naturalnoshing  |  October 17, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Yep she had a cookbook! The cover started out yellow and then was altered to pink :) Nice memory!

      Reply
  • [...] smoothie. You can also add a scoop to plain oatmeal after cooking to give it a boost. My banana buddy shake fits the bill if you add a [...]

    Reply
  • 21. Emma G  |  November 11, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    This is great! I am sipping on it righ now and it’s one of the best mixtures EVER! I like to add a little more peanut butter for a more intense taste! Thanks for posting this!

    Reply
    • 22. naturalnoshing  |  November 11, 2011 at 5:51 pm

      SO glad you are lovin’ the combo too Emma! Peanut butter and banana amazing together!!! Thanks for saying hi :)

      Reply
  • [...] 2. Banana Buddy Shake [...]

    Reply
  • [...] Banana Buddy Shake Natural Noshing [...]

    Reply
  • 25. Marcie  |  February 17, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    Interesting recipe, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 26. omega 3 efa  |  March 20, 2014 at 8:43 pm

    Hi, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this blog
    post. It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 939 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

