Blackberry-Banana Coconut Muffin Bites

May 31, 2011 at 3:17 pm 5 comments

I must be into blackberries these days, or maybe I am just a sucker for good deals! Our local Sprouts Farmers Market had a sale on blackberries for 77 cents per container, and yours truly had to purchase! I bought two containers – one for snacking and the other to be used in coconut muffins.

I had an itch to bake and wanted to use up the rest of my coconut flour — so there you have it, bite-sized muffins with a burst of juicy berries and a hint of vanilla and coconut. These are light in texture and easy to pop in your mouth…maybe a little too easy. Let’s just say I no longer have any left…

Blackberry-Banana Coconut Muffin Bites 

Ingredients

1/4 cup coconut flour
1/8 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
2 eggs, room temperature and well beaten
1 egg white, room temperature and well beaten
1 small ripe banana, well mashed
1/2 Tbsp gluten free vanilla extract (I use McCormicks)
2 Tbsp honey (or other sweetener, if desired)
2 Tbsp oil (I use coconut oil in liquid state but other canola oil or melted butter would work fine too)
3 Tbsp milk (coconut, almond, rice, soy or cow’s milk could be substituted)

a small container of blackberries (raspberries or blueberries would work here too)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line mini muffin tins with paper liners or grease well.
2. Whisk all dry ingredients in a small bowl (coconut flour through cinnamon) until well combined.
2. In a separate medium bowl, add wet ingredients (egg through milk) and whisk until mixed well.
4. Add dry ingredients to the wet and stir to mix. Divide batter into muffin tins, about 2/3 full.
5. Press berries into tops of batter and bake for about 12-15 minutes, until slightly golden brown and cooked through. (all ovens may vary so check at 12 minutes to check for doneness)

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Sides and Snacks. Tags: , , , , , , .

Healthier Fried Rice with Shrimp Chicken with Pepian Sauce

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cynthia  |  June 1, 2011 at 9:54 am

    These look so yummy! Can’t wait to try them. (One of my favorite childhood memories is of my grandmother Nora baking her scrumptious blackberry cobbler. It would make your mouth water as the aroma wafted from her oven.) I’ve noticed coconut and coconut oil being used a lot lately in healthy recipes. Here in Houston, I found out about CocoTherapy for dogs – – it is a line of organic treats that are good for your pet’s skin, coats, digestion, etc. Check out http://www.cocotherapy.com – maybe you could create your own doggie treat as well!

    Reply
  • 2. Charissa  |  June 1, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    My Dad is gluten free so he would love these…thanks for sharing the recipe!

    I’m trying to be a bit more gluten free in my life too, so THANKS!

    Reply
  • 3. Mini Gluten-Free Banana Muffins |  |  June 13, 2011 at 7:06 pm

    [...] is not my recipe. I stole it from here. I wish I were a pro at inventing recipes for baked goods. Maybe one day. For now, I’ll stick [...]

    Reply
  • 4. marla {family fresh cooking}  |  June 30, 2011 at 6:14 am

    These look wonderful, will be linking to them today in my gf muffin post :)

    Reply
  • [...] Blackberry Banana Coconut Muffin Bites Natural Noshing [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to Natural Noshing and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 960 other followers

Recent Posts

Categories

Certified Yummly Recipes on Yummly.com
my foodgawker gallery

Visit naturalnoshing on dishfolio.com
Secret Recipe Club

